Simply Steamed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is certainly simple! Simple, but delcious! Followed recipe exactly until the end, at which point, we added a little more butter and salt just before serving. It may not have been necessary, but my boyfriend is used to an Italian asparagus recipe, that includes pan-frying in lots of oil AND butter (yummy, but SO MUCH FAT!), and I want to slowly get him used to a healthier version. Next time, I'll try omitting the extra salt and butter. We steamed for a tad bit too long so the stems were slimy, but the tops were just delicious! That was purely our own fault, and not the fault of the recipe - I'm just including it here as a warning to other members - please be careful about cooking too long! It's really a great, simple, healthy recipe, and I think it deserves more attention. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Great! My first time making steamed asparagus-- I had no idea how long to steam. This recipe really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was really good. My husband said this is his favorite way of preparing asparagus. Before I served this I sprinkled some lime juice over the spears for a little kick. Make sure to do this right before you plan on serving...otherwise the acidity from the lime makes the drippings turn red. Will use this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
It's a total waste of butter to add it to the water. Add it to the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This is my first time to steam asparagus, so compared to other methods, I really don't know how much better this one is. However, the asparagus was very good & I will make it again. I knew it was a hit when my husband ate the entire stalk of each one. Thinning the bases of the stalk with a vegetable peeler was a helpful hint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Asparagus is so simple to make and doesn't require anything fancy to taste great. I steam my asparagus like this in just a little bit of water, and then no steamer basket is needed. Then, once it is a bright green color I saute it in a tad of olive oil for about a minute and sprinkle with a little salt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Exactly as the name states. I used "dill vinaigrette" (from this site) instead of the butter. Basic, but good. Thanks Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I love vegetables with absolutely nothing on them, so this recipe was for me. The asparagus turned out beatifully, not to mushy, not to bland. I'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Simple and tasty! It is also good for steaming a large bunch to snack on cold at a later time- not too squishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACFROGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Just plain asparagus, cooked just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States