Simply Sensational Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I'm giving this 3 stars only because 2 1/2 stars arent available. The response to these was very mixed. Either they really liked them or they really disliked them. I personally didnt care for them. The cream cheese in these in my opinion was way to strong. I dont think i will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These are sooooo easy, I will make them next year and probably every year after that, with the number of compliments I received. I did some with white and some with milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These *are* Simply Sensational. They're time consuming, but very easy to make. You may find, as I did, that the consistency is like firm pudding unless you chill them long enough (more than an hour in the refrigerator is a must). What I do when it's time to chill them is to put them in the freezer (in a stainless steel bowl) for about 30-40 minutes, or until just firm enough to use a small ice-cream scoop/melon baller. Once on the baking sheet, I freeze for about another 30 minutes to make them easy to work with. Work quickly. It's impossible to work with them at room temperature. I also dipped them in melted dark chocolate (60% Ghiradelli works well). When it cools, it makes a hard crunchy outside that goes really well with the creamy inside. While the chocolate was still a bit tacky, I rolled some in powdered peppermint candies, some in powdered almonds, and some in powdered creme de menthe. They were absolutely divine, and look very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very good and easy. However very messy. These are so rich you can't eat more than 1 at a time. tastes like a piece of chocolate cheesecake. Next time I would use 2 packages of cream cheese and 8 oz. melted chocolate to cut down on the sweetness. Great with coffee or milk but you need something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These turned out very chocolaty, very strong,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Fantastic! I put 1 T of bailey's in one batch and 1 T in the second batch. Delish! I also melted a half a block of paraffin in with the coating (12 squares of choc) and that generously coated a double batch. Also with the paraffin, you don't have to worry about the chocolate getting soft. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
A little too rich, you need a glass of eggnog or milk with these. It was extremely easy to do, a little messy though. I sprinkled them with cocoa powder for extra decoration and flavor. I brought them to work, and people were impressed with my mad baking skills (I didn't tell them how easy it was!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I accidentally bought unsweetened chocolate when making this recipe, and so I added two cups of powdered sugar and several tablespoons of kahlua. I don't know how the original version was, but mine was freaking delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Excellent, first rate recipe!! I divided into 3 sections and put 1T Kahlua in one, 1T Bailey's in another and 1/4 t peppermint flavoring in the last. I used german chocolate for the outer layer. It really helped, as another poster suggested, to use toothpicks when dipping and placing on pan or in paper cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made these tonight. I let my kids have the extra uncoated ones and they loved them. I think I will make a few and just roll them in graham cracker crumbs insted of dipping them in chocolate. That was a big mess and aggravating since I could not get my chocolate tempered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States