Simply Sensational Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
The best ever! There was NOTHING left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McFadden Leger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The pudding layer and strawberries are the best part of this recipe. I would not use the baking powder mix for the cake layer. I made this recipe exactly as stated, using Jiffy Baking mix for the all-purpose mix. It was salty and thick. I will try a cake mix instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was a big hit! The shortcake is easy and delcious and there is no need to double the recipe. Instead of boxed pudding I used the Creamy Vanilla Pudding off this site and it was gorgeous and delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I’m no master in the kitchen and usually massacre anything and everything I try out… This was easy and came out perfect! Everyone loved it and I can’t wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Turned out BEAUTIFUL and tasted delicious. I don't understand why everyone is saying it's to thing to split?? Mine baked up rather tall. I used Cool Whip Lite and Bisquick baking mix. Will make again and again and I will try it with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I made this cake last night and put it together this afternoon just before serving it turned out beautiful i did how ever only make a half at a time as i did not want the cake to be all put together and not get eaten as there only 3 in my family so the rest will be ready for dessert tomorrow will be sharing this recipe with my oldest daughter its a hit in our family. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
It was good, but I guess I was expecing more. The "cake" part was a little over-powering, and it just had a "blah" taste to it. Probably will not make again, but thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabbage

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shopperooni
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this recipe as stated, except that I used an 8" cake pan instead of 9", since others said the shortcake was too thin to split into layers. I baked it at 400 for 15-17 minutes until golden. It was very easy to split. The only thing I didn't like about this recipe was the shortcake itself -- I liked it on its own, but when mixed with the fruit and cream, it seemed stale and ... salty? It just didn't do anything for me, and seemed kind of out of place. My 2 brothers agreed, and we all pushed the cake to the side and gobbled up the strawberries and cream on their own. My mom was the only one who thought it was perfect, though she admits that she hates other shortcakes made with sponge or angel food cake. Either way, I certainly would not double the shortcake recipe! It doesn't seem like much, but there really was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Fantastic. So much better than regular shortcake. I used the Jiffy all purpose baking mix. It is a satisfying dessert yet you dont have to feel as guilty. I will also try with peaches.Thanks for the great recipe. This has already become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I agree with the other person. This was a little too crumbly and I had to make two batches. One was just not enough. And I followed the recipe exactly. The overall taste was good, so I have to give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike'swife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States