Simply Roasted Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I have never prepared fresh artichokes until this New Year's Eve. They came out wonderful and I served them with drawn butter for dipping. Also, spread the roasted garlic from inside of the artichokes on baguette slices. I looked up how to cut and wrap the artichokes on you tube. There's a good video that uses this recipe. Search 'how to roast artichokes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Terrific! Needed a great base to make a hummus: this is it, along w some kalamata olives and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Delicious. Chef John never dissapoints. It was my first time preparing artichokes and I was a little intimidated by them. This recipe is very easy with amazing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made as directed. Another great recipe from chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Fun way to cook artichokes and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious! I can't wait to make these again. I added a pinch of crushed oregano and black pepper to the other ingredients, stir everything in a small bowl and then drizzle between the leaves with the garlic cloves in the center. I don't think I'll be steaming artichokes ever again. Thanks Chef John for a great recipe. Oh, and I've kept the cloves to use later on in something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Made this recipe the other night..it was only fair. It tasted oily and we found that it didn't have very much taste. I had even added extra garlic. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe works brilliantly and I have cooked artichokes for over 30 years. However, the importance of choosing a proper artichoke cannot be overstated. People often attribute a bad outcome to the recipe itself, without consideration of their own laxity in ingredient choice. No recipe can fix a poor main ingredient but a good recipe can elevate a good ingredient to greatness, as I believe this recipe almost does. To finish the artichoke to greatness, cut in half and grill for 5 minutes over hot coals. I made a dipping sauce of equal parts mayonnaise and sour cream, with chopped shallots, parsley, capers and some Worcestershire sauce. It brought the freekin' house down. This recipe rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was the best way to make artichokes. No messing boiling. The taste was amazing. Will make this way again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This was easy to make and did not get a bunch of dishes dirty, so I liked that about it. The flavor was okay, not stellar but not bad. However, the big negatives for us were the scent and the appearance of the artichokes. I normally steam them and they end up a brighter green. Using the roasting method, they came out dull colored and had a kind of stinky smell, both of which were unappealing. I will probably not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States