Simply Potatoes® Cheesy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
If you like cheesy potatoes, this is a great simple dish, you can add ham, turkey or chicken to it. You can also add whatever spices, cajun spice is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We LOVE this recipe!!! So easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizbuzz82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is the only way I prepare hash browns for company now. It is so good and very easy to prepare the night before and throw in the oven in the morning. The only changes I make are that I use half of the cheese and double the onion. I like big chunks of onion, too. You will not be disappointed! I've tried this with and without the topping and I really prefer it without. UPDATE: This is still my favorite way to prepare hash browns, but I have tried a few additions with some really great results. The best meat additions are either 3 heaping Tbls. Canadian Bacon, diced small or Pancetta, finely diced and sautéed. And adding just a pinch of red pepper flakes kicks up the flavor enough to make you wonder "WHAT is in there"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have been using this recipe for years and we love it. Our favorite version though is to use the Simply Potatoes Southwest Style hashbrowns instead of the plain hashbrowns. This gives it a real kick and has tons of flavor. If I use the Southwest style I leave out the onion. I don't usually have cornflakes on hand, so, I generally just use crushed Ritz crackers instead. The potatoes do stay a little firm which we like, but, if you like them softer - I would saute the potatoes a little before mixing everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is my favorite comfort food. Guilty pleasure. So fattening. And SO YUMMY. It never lasts long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
A really yummy and easy recipe. I make a few tweaks to the recipe for my taste-buds however. First, instead of cream of chicken, I use cream of mushroom soup and I replace the corn flakes with French's Fried Onions! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Served this for our Christmas brunch and it got rave reviews. I didn't follow the recipe exactly: I had a bag of 24oz hashbrowns (instead of 20oz), used the whole 8oz container of sour cream (instead of 3/4c), and used almost a cup of chopped onion (instead of a 1/4c). Also, I cooked it for an hour (instead of 45 minutes). If I made it again I would probably use 1/2c of onion, but my Christmas guests said they really enjoyed the excess amount of onion =) I loved how simple it was to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I make this ALL the time at breakfast! I discovered this recipe at the hospital I worked at. They make this casserole and it always goes fast! I also make this minus the topping(ill have to try that) and instead of cream of chicken soup I use cream of mushroom. I also cook the potatoes in a bit of olive oil first for about 20 min in the skillet to soften them. They can be a bit to crunchy if not cooked before baking. This casserole is DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
great and simple recipe we use for parties all the time. I did change a few things. We like these to be super cheesy..so we double the amount of shredded cheese, and use a 4 cheese/taco blend, as it has more flavor and then we add 1 package of cream cheese that has been melted a bit. it makes this recipe super cheesy..we also do not add the crumbs on top, but the last 1o minutes we sprinkle another packag of shredded cheese on top and let it melt. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I get requested to make this for every Holiday/Party I attend. I use Cream of Mushroom Soup for my vegetarian friends and family and Crushed Garlic and Cheese Croutons on top instead of the cereal. The aroma just gets your tummy growling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States