Simply Potatoes® Cheesy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have been using this recipe for years and we love it. Our favorite version though is to use the Simply Potatoes Southwest Style hashbrowns instead of the plain hashbrowns. This gives it a real kick and has tons of flavor. If I use the Southwest style I leave out the onion. I don't usually have cornflakes on hand, so, I generally just use crushed Ritz crackers instead. The potatoes do stay a little firm which we like, but, if you like them softer - I would saute the potatoes a little before mixing everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is the only way I prepare hash browns for company now. It is so good and very easy to prepare the night before and throw in the oven in the morning. The only changes I make are that I use half of the cheese and double the onion. I like big chunks of onion, too. You will not be disappointed! I've tried this with and without the topping and I really prefer it without. UPDATE: This is still my favorite way to prepare hash browns, but I have tried a few additions with some really great results. The best meat additions are either 3 heaping Tbls. Canadian Bacon, diced small or Pancetta, finely diced and sautéed. And adding just a pinch of red pepper flakes kicks up the flavor enough to make you wonder "WHAT is in there"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I make this ALL the time at breakfast! I discovered this recipe at the hospital I worked at. They make this casserole and it always goes fast! I also make this minus the topping(ill have to try that) and instead of cream of chicken soup I use cream of mushroom. I also cook the potatoes in a bit of olive oil first for about 20 min in the skillet to soften them. They can be a bit to crunchy if not cooked before baking. This casserole is DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
If you like cheesy potatoes, this is a great simple dish, you can add ham, turkey or chicken to it. You can also add whatever spices, cajun spice is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
My husband LOVES this recipe, which we found on the package. That version didn't include the topping. We've experimented with various cream soups and really like the creamy green chile soup. It adds a spiciness that we prefer. It is very greasy, so he doesn't get this often, poor guy. Also, the very firm texture of the potatoes, even after cooking can take some getting used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Foote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
great and simple recipe we use for parties all the time. I did change a few things. We like these to be super cheesy..so we double the amount of shredded cheese, and use a 4 cheese/taco blend, as it has more flavor and then we add 1 package of cream cheese that has been melted a bit. it makes this recipe super cheesy..we also do not add the crumbs on top, but the last 1o minutes we sprinkle another packag of shredded cheese on top and let it melt. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I've been making this since my oldest daughter graduated high school in 2005. Always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I get requested to make this for every Holiday/Party I attend. I use Cream of Mushroom Soup for my vegetarian friends and family and Crushed Garlic and Cheese Croutons on top instead of the cereal. The aroma just gets your tummy growling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This came out perfectly and everyone loved it. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Everyone's favorite side this past Mother's Day dinner. Used 2 cups sour creme for a double batch, and added salt and pepper; otherwise stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States