Simply Lemon Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I would say it was decent but did not knock my socks off. I was seeking a more lemony chicken. It was very tender and great to use leftover chicken for other dishes, but the recipe itself was just slightly above average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The chicken was a little dry, and I basted it several times throughout the process, and let it sit for 15 minutes after it came out. I used a whole lemon in the middle and also added half a lime, and the flavor was still almost undetectable. Next time I will try using a bigger lemon and putting slices under the skin to help the flavor really soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Mine was really dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet - I've made this lots of times over the last few years! I am a fiend for anything citrus, so I hardly ever use just one lemon. Today I made it with two big lemons and a lime, which was delicious and adds much more flavor to the end result. One thing that never made sense to me was the order of the ingredients. Now I always start with the salt on the inside, then juice the lemons onto the chicken, then pat the outside with salt, and then SPRINKLE the outside very generously with the paprika; I much prefer that to the smeary wet paprika that results from patting after the chicken's wet with juice. I also just pour the water into the pan. Why wash off the paprika?! Today I used a covered roaster without basting at all, and it worked wonderfully - but that cuts the cooking time a LOT. Mine was already over temp when I checked it at 2 hrs (but still plenty juicy, thank goodness). A quick zap under the broiler to crisp up the skin, and I think it turned out great. I'll check at 1.5 hrs next time, though! I served it with asian-style shortgrain rice that had chopped cilantro, lime juice and lime zest mixed in, which was a really yummy combo. I spooned a little bit of the pan liquid, with most of the fat skimmed off, over it all. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I decided to try this in the crock pot instead of the oven. I let it cook on low for about 8 hours and it came out sooo tasty. I didn't bast the chicken at all which caused the white meat to be a little dry. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Used three lemons and followed recipe with excellent results. Everyone loved it! Leftovers made great chicken salad sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Really easy way to make an easy, moist chicken. Only had lime & used my no-salt creole seasoning on the outside. Easy dinner that all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
There is absolutely nothing bad about this recipe, it just really doesn't have a whole lot of flavor. I couldn't taste even a hint of the salt, lemon, paprika, or the garlic powder I added. That being said, the chicken was SO moist and juicy. We love chicken any which way though, so we didn't mind the lack of flavor. It went over well and I would make this again to get the meat for other recipes that call for cooked chicken because it was so nicely cooked. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, however, I made a couple of small changes: I used chicken broth instead of water and added some dry white wine towards the end. You can get the broth in 32-oz cartons in the soup aisle. It also comes in a low-salt form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I always make the recipe as written the first time unless I try to simplify it first (like canned chopped toms instead of fresh, pre shredded cheese, etc). This one was perfect as written. The salt was the right amount. The chicken was very moist and tasty. The lemon flavor was perfect with just one lemon. The skin was nice and crisp. No need to tent or cover with foil. I will definitely make this again and again. The entire family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States