Simply Lemon Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I was disappointed. I followed it exactly and, didn't taste any lemon flavor at all in my chicken. I even basted every half hour. I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Great recipe, I love the lemon flavor. I tossed a couple of garlic cloves inside the chicken as well as a dash of cayenne. Someone earlier posted making rice in the pan while the chicken cooks, I will try this next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
What a delicious recipe this is! I followed other reviewer's suggestion and wrapped it in foil with 1/4 cup of water. The meat just fell off the bone! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Great! I rubbed minced garlic to the inside and outside. I also baked covered for 1 1/2 hour and uncovered until done. That way it says incredibly juicy, and has a brown crispy skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
While I like the flavor of lemon, my husband likes things plain. So instead of drizzling lemon juice on the outside, I just quartered a lemon and stuffed it into the chicken cavity along with a few sprigs of fresh rosemary and thyme. I drizzled a little olive oil over the chicken, seasoned with salt, pepper and paprika and the lemon/herb flavor was so subtle I could taste it but he could not quite indentify it, so it was perfect! Chicken came out very moist and delicious. One change, I actually baked at 375 and it took about 1 1/2 hours for a 6-ish lb. chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I made this dish last night for dinner, but I modified it a bit. I rubbed the chicken with butter and lemon juice on the outside, then I followed it with Mrs. Dash. I also rubbed the insides with Mrs. Dash before inserting the cut lemons. After the chicken was ready, I added about 2 cups of water to the pan, and followed it with about 3 cups of instant rice. While the chicken cooked, the rice cooked. The juices & lemon from the chicken seasoned the rice. I covered it with foil and let it cook for two hours (it was a smaller chicken). The last fifteen minutes I took off the foil and let it broil to just crisp the outer layer of skin. Last minute mix the rice, and you're set to carve the chicken. A whole dinner made in one dish. Great recipe. Would make again. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This chicken was awesome. I have never had such a moist chicken, and the kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was very tasty, but not as moist as I would have hoped. Normally when I bake chicken I just brush the skin with butter, cut the lemon in half and put it inside the chicken. It always turns out wonderfully, with meat falling off the bone, so I think I will just revert to that method. I did think this was a good recipe, and if I would have heeded the reviewers advice it probably would have been more moist (less salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Excellent! I heeded some other people's advice, and made revisions of my own. I used about 1.5 tbsp of salt to rub around the chicken. For basting, I used the juice of 2 lemons + 2 tbsp butter and 1/4 cup water. I placed the gizzards in the pan to cook with the chicken. Baste often. Eventually, I ran out of my basting sauce, but the chicken produced enough liquid in the pan that I used that to brush the chicken with. the gizzards and neck helped flavor the liquid, too. I served this with Oven Roasted Vegetables found in this site as well. This recipe now belongs in our 2-week menu rotation plan. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States