Simply Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I make a very good guacamole although i use mostly the same items i also hope that you will try mine in which i add a small amount of diced fresh tomatoes and also add about 1/2 ounce of taco seasoning you would really be suprised at how wonderful it tastes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Great guacamole! It's simple and delicious! I cut this back to 8 servings for 2 avocados. I used fresh lime juice vs. lemon juice and added just a bit of garlic and 1/4 tsp. of cumin. Perfect with warm tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
One of the best guacamole recies we have found. It's the way Mexican cooking should be -- quick, easy and delicious ! ! ! The recipe can also eaily be adjusted for personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I'm the one who contributed this recipe. After reading all the reviews I should add what one of the reviewers said about the quality of the avocados. The should be HAAS. When you buy them at the store the skin shouldn't be too bumpy and soft to touch. Not too soft. Use them as soon as possible as avocados don't have a long shelf life at least the ones that are not hard as a rock. Adding lime instead of lemon for flavor. It's probably a good call. But otherwise is that SIMPLE! Keep it that way for best results and if you don't like CILANTRO this is definitely not your recipe. What makes this recipe is the cilantro and green onions do not replace or exchange. This recipe is supposed to be simple and without garlic. Those who add cumin, garlic or tomatoes need a different recipe. So don't go by the reviews too much is my experience. Funny you learn that when you submit your own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I haven't made this recipe, but want to comment. The most important thing in good guac is the avacados. You really can't stress that enough. I use Haas. They have to be ripe. I usually make my guac with some salsa and some lemon juice. I'm not a big cilantro fan so I leave that out. Sometimes I add green onion if I have it and fresh tomatoes if they are in my garden. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Hubs didn't want me to make this and deviate from MY guacamole (which has cumin, jalapeno, garlic and chopped tomato). I told him I wanted to make this recipe just as is, that you never know, you might just like something even tho' it's unfamiliar. We tried it. We liked it. Hubs said, "It's not as good as yours, but this is pretty 'D' good." This WAS pretty "D" good. This "Simply Guacamole" recipe just may be on to something! Like.....keep it simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great recipe - I add a drained can of Rotel and two tsp of minced garlic. Not a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I love recipes like this. So simple, so few ingredients, yet so delicious and fresh. The lime juice and cilantro are great additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is sooo good. Stuck right to the recipe and it was so fresh & yummy. Thanks for sharing it with us. I hate it when people add a dash of this or that and a can of this or that, etc. Then they tell you what they think of the recipe. You can't rate a recipe if you turn it into your own recipe and then give it the stars. Its not the same. If you have a good recipe - then submit it. Not one that you have made over to suit you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Awesome just as is. I don't deviate from recipes when people take the time to post them. I might as well just post my own if I change it. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States