Simply Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
All I did was add a tomato (it was about to go bad and I needed to use it) and lime juice instead of lemon. One word - YUM. Delicious and simple are always nice words to associate with a recipe and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I was looking for a quick guacamole recipe that didn't have too many ingredients. This worked great. I only had 2 avocados and the rest of the ingredients on hand. I was shock how good it tasted. I played with the lemon juice and salt and pepper. I added a bit of garlic salt because I normally add garlic to guacamole. Play with the ingredients and have fun. this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsamusic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Delicious and simple! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I'm the one who contributed this recipe. After reading all the reviews I should add what one of the reviewers said about the quality of the avocados. The should be HAAS. When you buy them at the store the skin shouldn't be too bumpy and soft to touch. Not too soft. Use them as soon as possible as avocados don't have a long shelf life at least the ones that are not hard as a rock. Adding lime instead of lemon for flavor. It's probably a good call. But otherwise is that SIMPLE! Keep it that way for best results and if you don't like CILANTRO this is definitely not your recipe. What makes this recipe is the cilantro and green onions do not replace or exchange. This recipe is supposed to be simple and without garlic. Those who add cumin, garlic or tomatoes need a different recipe. So don't go by the reviews too much is my experience. Funny you learn that when you submit your own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I only had 1 ripe avocado so I scaled this down. Made as directed but added some hot sauce. Next time I'm going to add diced tomatoes. Almost too easy to make this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is very simple and tasty. It was missing a little something so I added a little lime juice for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
It looks super and I am sure to try it soon but I knocked off one star for the incomplete listing of green onion. I believe you meant 3/4 cup. Please correct to clear any future confusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I haven't made this recipe, but want to comment. The most important thing in good guac is the avacados. You really can't stress that enough. I use Haas. They have to be ripe. I usually make my guac with some salsa and some lemon juice. I'm not a big cilantro fan so I leave that out. Sometimes I add green onion if I have it and fresh tomatoes if they are in my garden. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I love recipes like this. So simple, so few ingredients, yet so delicious and fresh. The lime juice and cilantro are great additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Thanks for a wonderfully simple and tasty dip recipe! I used lime juice and didn't use any cilantro at all. I also added a clove of garlic and some paprika. We didn't have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States