Simply Divine Meat Loaf with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
If you're using a lean meat like ground sirloin or turkey for this recipe here's an easy way to keep your loaf super moist. Slice a medium size onion in about 1/4 inch rings and spread it on the bottom of the pan (break apart into individual rings), place your meatloaf, and pour beef broth around it, just enough to cover the bottom of the pan, put the foil on top and follow the rest of the recipe. You will get the juiciest meatloaf, guaranteed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I left out pamesean simply because I was out. I'm surprised at the review that said it was dry. My favorite thing about it is that it's moist throughout but not mushy. I like that it came together quickly, without a lot of chopping. I'm a cook with good intentions, but not a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGOON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I was really hesitant to try this recipe but needed to make something that included a vegetable that my picky granddaughter would eat. I made this exactly as written with the exception of using 2 lbs. of ground venison in place of ground beef. I also added one extra egg. I made it into two loaves so I only needed to cook it for 50 minutes. My grandkids gobbled this up. I put a little ketchup on top to hide the green spinach and they never knew they were eating a healthy meatloaf. It was moist, tender and flavorful. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great, even the kids loved it. I mixed one pound of ground turkey and one pound of ground beef. Very moist and plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
It is rare, I think, to assign a five star rating to something as prosaic as meat loaf, but this recipe deserves it. As I gathered the ingredients, I wondered how this could possibly work, but I persevered. I used very lean ground beef - it is all I can buy where I live, in Mexico. It is also finely ground, which usually means that the meatloaf tastes like sawdust. Not this time. It was delicious and moist and savory. AND, I totally forgot the Parmesan cheese. And, I used about a cup of oatmeal instead of the bread crumbs. This is my new meatloaf recipe. I'm glad we have leftovers for sandwiches tomorrow. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was just okay. Followed directions except for substituting oatmeal for Italian breadcrumbs as other reviewers had suggested. The taste of the spinach was a detractor from the overall meatloaf flavor and the dried onions ended up looking like little worms in it. Hubby, who loves spinach, didn't like this meatloaf, nor did I. Will go back to my old standby,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Wonderfully moist and full of flavor! The spinach really did the trick but I still smothered it with ketchup near the end of cooking. Sorry, I couldn't help myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
The best Meatloaf recipe ever! I have made it many, many times- loved by all. It goes great with 'Twice Baked Potatoes'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
The amount of breadcrumbs was excessive... I've never had a beef meatloaf that wasn't oozing some fat or grease. The breadcrumbs must have absorbed all of the fat! It tasted too bready as well. If I try this again, I'd cut the breadcrumbs by at least half. And it needs lots of ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenchoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
i found this recipe to be just ok. i scaled it back to 1lb of meat, and used ground turkey. i thought it could have used more spinach. even with cutting back on the onion soup mix, i thought it was salty and too heavy on that flavor. not our favorite, but thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States