Simply Divine Meat Loaf with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I've only tried about 3 turkey meatloaf recipes, but this was was so good I'll probably never try another. I did 2 lbs of 85/15 ground turkey meat, 1/4c dressing, 3/4c bread crumbs, and also used fresh onion and green onion instead of the lipton - otherwise the same, and cooked an additional 20 minutes uncovered. When I put this into My Fitness Pal (assuming a 1/7 portion since that's how I sliced mine) it came to 529 cal, 18 carbs, 36 fat, 31 protein, 9 sugars. Dressing is so fattening/full of sugar I think you could get by without it, and I see most people use oatmeal in place of bread crumbs, which I will probably try next time. FANTASTIC recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this with a few healthy substitutions and it was still phenomenal! Used plain yogurt instead of sour cream, turkey instead of beef and kale instead of spinach. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have made numerous times with Ground Beef and Ground Turkey depending on what I had. The only change I made was using a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch mix instead of onion soup mix. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I've made this twice now. Once just as instructed (which was great!) and then tonight I made it with a few "oh shoot, I don't have that on hand" adjustments. Instead of spinach, I used kale. Instead of breadcrumbs, I dropped some sunflower seeds into the chopper. No italian dressing in the house. Additionally, I had an abundance of bell peppers on hand which required attention. So, I stuffed each pepper with the meatloaf mix and popped them into the oven. It was done in about 30 minutes, the taste and texture were AMAZING, and my husband actually got up to serve himself seconds. I feel the need to repeat: The changes mentioned are simply the result of my being too lazy to run to the store. By happy accident, I ended up with a very delicious low-carb option. Thanks for a great, flexible dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
If you're using a lean meat like ground sirloin or turkey for this recipe here's an easy way to keep your loaf super moist. Slice a medium size onion in about 1/4 inch rings and spread it on the bottom of the pan (break apart into individual rings), place your meatloaf, and pour beef broth around it, just enough to cover the bottom of the pan, put the foil on top and follow the rest of the recipe. You will get the juiciest meatloaf, guaranteed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I left out pamesean simply because I was out. I'm surprised at the review that said it was dry. My favorite thing about it is that it's moist throughout but not mushy. I like that it came together quickly, without a lot of chopping. I'm a cook with good intentions, but not a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGOON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I was really hesitant to try this recipe but needed to make something that included a vegetable that my picky granddaughter would eat. I made this exactly as written with the exception of using 2 lbs. of ground venison in place of ground beef. I also added one extra egg. I made it into two loaves so I only needed to cook it for 50 minutes. My grandkids gobbled this up. I put a little ketchup on top to hide the green spinach and they never knew they were eating a healthy meatloaf. It was moist, tender and flavorful. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great, even the kids loved it. I mixed one pound of ground turkey and one pound of ground beef. Very moist and plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
It is rare, I think, to assign a five star rating to something as prosaic as meat loaf, but this recipe deserves it. As I gathered the ingredients, I wondered how this could possibly work, but I persevered. I used very lean ground beef - it is all I can buy where I live, in Mexico. It is also finely ground, which usually means that the meatloaf tastes like sawdust. Not this time. It was delicious and moist and savory. AND, I totally forgot the Parmesan cheese. And, I used about a cup of oatmeal instead of the bread crumbs. This is my new meatloaf recipe. I'm glad we have leftovers for sandwiches tomorrow. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States