Simply Delicious Banana Crumb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
The addition of cinnamon and the crumb topping makes this banana bread recipe unique from most. I substituted butter for the shortening since I felt it would give it more flavor. The bread turned out moist with lots of wonderful flavors, the crumb topping adds a nice texture and as well as an additional sweetness. If doubling the recipe, as I did, there is no need to increase the amount of the crumb mixture, there is plenty for two regular size loaves. I had searched a long time for a banana bread recipe with a topping such as this, and I will be making this recipe many times again. The reduction in temperatures helps to prevent burning of the crumb topping, so I wouldn't skip this step. It helps to create a more moist bread as well. This is a welcome addition to my recipe collection. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Great tasting bread! I doubled the recipe, including the crumb topping (which was a mistake, regular recipe is plenty, for two loafs). When doubling the bread recipe I used 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. of almond, I also used 4 bananas. The smell was wonderful and it tasted great, just too much of the topping for my taste (when doubled). Also cooking time was over an hour with two loafs, approx 45 minutes at 350 and 35 minutes at 325. I think I will try apples with this recipe, crumb topping is similar to a pie topping that I have for an apple pie. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casar, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
well, I made this recipe twice today (first time making it) and the first time it bombed... i hadn't read the reviews yet about it bubbling over and not cooking. I was so frustrated that I made it again and this time split the batter into two loaf pans instead of one, there was plenty of crumb topping for the two loaves. I baked it for about 15 min longer checking it every 5 min just in case and it turned out GREAT! and I have 2 banana bread loaves instead of one. I will use this recipe again, the crumb topping was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Absolutely amazing! I used a muffin pan instead of a bread pan, but I had just about the right amount of batter to make a dozen muffins. They were very moist and very "banana-ee". I made them one evening, and they were gone by early afternoon next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I have to give it a one star, my "bread" is still a batter and its been in the oven for 1 hour, when the recipe calls for less time. I have no clue why its still a batter. Maybe because there was a lot of crumb topping?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My whole family loved this & I made it for a friend & he brought it to work & they all loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have some personal failings when it comes to "cutting in" butter or shortening, but I must admit this is quite tasty, though, it seems sunken and a tad bit soft in the middle, despite the fact that I cooked it to the maximum point then left it in the oven (turned off). Overall, cakelike and delicious, but I probably won't make it again, partly because of my own difficulties, and partly because Barbara Kingsolver helped me realize what a large carbon cost bananas have, unless you actually live in Belize or Ecuador.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe makes wonderful muffins!! I wasn't too thrilled with the way the loaf turned out, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I doubled the cooking time and still came out with squidgey bread. Completely soft 3/4 the way through and completely not usable. Something is very wrong with this recipe. I bake a lot so I am not chalking this up to inexperience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My bread took much longer to bake than the recipe directed. The flavor was very good--what I tasted--I made it for my husband to take to work. It barely got done in time for him to take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States