Simply Delicious Banana Crumb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I have some personal failings when it comes to "cutting in" butter or shortening, but I must admit this is quite tasty, though, it seems sunken and a tad bit soft in the middle, despite the fact that I cooked it to the maximum point then left it in the oven (turned off). Overall, cakelike and delicious, but I probably won't make it again, partly because of my own difficulties, and partly because Barbara Kingsolver helped me realize what a large carbon cost bananas have, unless you actually live in Belize or Ecuador.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe makes wonderful muffins!! I wasn't too thrilled with the way the loaf turned out, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I think this is the best banana bread recipe I or my family have ever eaten. Just love the topping. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I am always trying to find ways to get my children to eat more fruit. Well This recipie was a big hit in out house. My husband told me over and over how good it was. I will be sure to make this again. The crumb topping is wonderful on this bread. I did add more bananas than this recipie called for and I used butter instead of shortning..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Great tasting bread! I doubled the recipe, including the crumb topping (which was a mistake, regular recipe is plenty, for two loafs). When doubling the bread recipe I used 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. of almond, I also used 4 bananas. The smell was wonderful and it tasted great, just too much of the topping for my taste (when doubled). Also cooking time was over an hour with two loafs, approx 45 minutes at 350 and 35 minutes at 325. I think I will try apples with this recipe, crumb topping is similar to a pie topping that I have for an apple pie. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casar, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Add me to the "still batter" list. My bread is not yet finished, so I can't comment on flavor. So, why is it not done? I used glass bread pans, and I used butter rather than shortening. I know my oven bakes at 25 degrees less than the setting, so I adjust for that. Later in the day.... Okay. It took nearly two hours to bake. The flavor is nice, but the texture isn't quite bready enough I may try it another time. I forgot to add that I am nearly at sea level. Perhaps that affects the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I have to give it a one star, my "bread" is still a batter and its been in the oven for 1 hour, when the recipe calls for less time. I have no clue why its still a batter. Maybe because there was a lot of crumb topping?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Absolutely amazing! I used a muffin pan instead of a bread pan, but I had just about the right amount of batter to make a dozen muffins. They were very moist and very "banana-ee". I made them one evening, and they were gone by early afternoon next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
The addition of cinnamon and the crumb topping makes this banana bread recipe unique from most. I substituted butter for the shortening since I felt it would give it more flavor. The bread turned out moist with lots of wonderful flavors, the crumb topping adds a nice texture and as well as an additional sweetness. If doubling the recipe, as I did, there is no need to increase the amount of the crumb mixture, there is plenty for two regular size loaves. I had searched a long time for a banana bread recipe with a topping such as this, and I will be making this recipe many times again. The reduction in temperatures helps to prevent burning of the crumb topping, so I wouldn't skip this step. It helps to create a more moist bread as well. This is a welcome addition to my recipe collection. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States