Simply Delicious Banana Crumb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
4 stars because I substituted butter for shortening, and because the cook time is off. This bread takes Forever to bake, but (to me) so worth it! Love-Love-Love it! I've made this for years, both as bread and as cupcakes- which shave off a bit of bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good, just took way longer to bake than the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Although I had to alter a few things about this recipe (which is a part of the baking experience) it was delicious and anyone who tried it, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I doubled the cooking time and still came out with squidgey bread. Completely soft 3/4 the way through and completely not usable. Something is very wrong with this recipe. I bake a lot so I am not chalking this up to inexperience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The final result of this recipe tasted very good. It was, however, a long process getting there. Other reviewers mentioned their bread not baking. Very true. The baking time is way off with this recipe. Mine took an extra 30 MINUTES. I made the crumb topping as the recipe stated, but could only fit half of it on the bread. I saved the other half. I did sprinkle some regular oats on top for appearance. I noticed this batter was extremely runny. I think the liquid - 1 cup of milk - was way too much. If anything, I may try decreasing the milk by half and adding an extra banana. The cinnamon would definitely be better added with the dry ingredients. The recipe calls only for ALMOND extract, but the directions tell you to add the VANILLA extract. I don't believe the oven should be turned down to 325 while baking. My crumb topping barely browned at all even with the excess baking time. 350 might give this bread a chance to finish baking in the suggested time. BTW, the total baking time is also listed incorrectly. It states 45 minutes, but 20 + 15= 35, not 45. Most quick breads take about an hour to bake (I've made quite a few). I may try this again with several modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My bread took much longer to bake than the recipe directed. The flavor was very good--what I tasted--I made it for my husband to take to work. It barely got done in time for him to take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Another bake sale favorite better than any other banana bread. I used baby food bananas instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I'll be making it again today. It was the best bananna bread I have ever made. I doubled the recipe and it turned out great. It could probably stand to be a little bit sweeter so I will add a tad more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
well, I made this recipe twice today (first time making it) and the first time it bombed... i hadn't read the reviews yet about it bubbling over and not cooking. I was so frustrated that I made it again and this time split the batter into two loaf pans instead of one, there was plenty of crumb topping for the two loaves. I baked it for about 15 min longer checking it every 5 min just in case and it turned out GREAT! and I have 2 banana bread loaves instead of one. I will use this recipe again, the crumb topping was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Terrible. I followed the recipe exactly detail for detail. it spilled over the side because it was too watery and it won't harden. I've been baking it for over an hour now. I don't know why it's not working, but it's not. I'm not happy with this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States