Simply Delicious Banana Crumb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I'll be making it again today. It was the best bananna bread I have ever made. I doubled the recipe and it turned out great. It could probably stand to be a little bit sweeter so I will add a tad more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My whole family loved this & I made it for a friend & he brought it to work & they all loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good, just took way longer to bake than the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Although I had to alter a few things about this recipe (which is a part of the baking experience) it was delicious and anyone who tried it, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I think this is the best banana bread recipe I or my family have ever eaten. Just love the topping. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
The addition of cinnamon and the crumb topping makes this banana bread recipe unique from most. I substituted butter for the shortening since I felt it would give it more flavor. The bread turned out moist with lots of wonderful flavors, the crumb topping adds a nice texture and as well as an additional sweetness. If doubling the recipe, as I did, there is no need to increase the amount of the crumb mixture, there is plenty for two regular size loaves. I had searched a long time for a banana bread recipe with a topping such as this, and I will be making this recipe many times again. The reduction in temperatures helps to prevent burning of the crumb topping, so I wouldn't skip this step. It helps to create a more moist bread as well. This is a welcome addition to my recipe collection. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Great tasting bread! I doubled the recipe, including the crumb topping (which was a mistake, regular recipe is plenty, for two loafs). When doubling the bread recipe I used 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. of almond, I also used 4 bananas. The smell was wonderful and it tasted great, just too much of the topping for my taste (when doubled). Also cooking time was over an hour with two loafs, approx 45 minutes at 350 and 35 minutes at 325. I think I will try apples with this recipe, crumb topping is similar to a pie topping that I have for an apple pie. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casar, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I am always trying to find ways to get my children to eat more fruit. Well This recipie was a big hit in out house. My husband told me over and over how good it was. I will be sure to make this again. The crumb topping is wonderful on this bread. I did add more bananas than this recipie called for and I used butter instead of shortning..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Absolutely amazing! I used a muffin pan instead of a bread pan, but I had just about the right amount of batter to make a dozen muffins. They were very moist and very "banana-ee". I made them one evening, and they were gone by early afternoon next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
4 stars because I substituted butter for shortening, and because the cook time is off. This bread takes Forever to bake, but (to me) so worth it! Love-Love-Love it! I've made this for years, both as bread and as cupcakes- which shave off a bit of bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States