Simplified Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is an excellent easy Cassoulet. Rather than spend the time prepping the duck breasts, I just bougt a jar of cofit d' canard at the local shop. One of the benefits of living in the duck capitol of the world (swear that what the sign up the road says) is that even the mini-marches have lovely duck products in tins and jars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used lamb and almost ruined it by not sealing the pot completely when braising it at 450 degrees. Despite not having the whole portion of lamb, once I'd burned it, the cassoulet turned out quite good. The portions are huge. A half recipe was several meals for my husband and me, even having seconds. Next time I will braise the lamb at a lower temperature so as not to burn it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Delicious. I used pork shoulder, turkey thighs, lamb merguez sausage and turkey keilbasa; skipped the prosciutto. Added some celery and carrot, used fresh thyme, a 28oz can diced tomatoes and 3 - 19 oz cans navy beans. Served with fennel, apple and mixed greens salad. Guests asked for some to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Although I did not use duck, but boneless chicken breast, this receipe was superb. I did prepare it one afternoon, then let it set in the refrigerator for a day and a half and cooked it. It was wonderful, and the flavor was so European. I did save the leftovers and served them with some pasta a few days later. A lot of work, but the taste was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Never having made cassoulet (simplified or not) before, I was pleased with the clear directions and methodical steps required to produce this. I followed the recipe almost exactly and adapted a few hints by the reviewers. What I found that worked was to put the whole thing together the night before and then let it sit. Complete the last baking step right before serving. I used a pork roast instead of lamb, chicken instead of duck, and omitted the proscuitto. My rural grocery stores don't have exotic ingredients like these too often. The pork was well-received but the chicken seemed a little too dry. I am personally a vegetarian, cooking for carnivores, so next time we will omit maybe the Italian sausages and add zucchini and squash just to even things out a bit. The meat gives the vegetables an excellent flavor. Delicious, delicious, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Adams
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I loved this - used chicken (it was what I had on hand) amazingly easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is a very good, solid recipe for a modern style cassoulet, and perfect for cold weather, and with the amount it makes, for having friends and family over as well. I omit proscuitto because I just don't believe it's necessary if you have good quality sausages, plus I don't like to take away from the succulent texture and flavour the duck fat gives the casserole by crossing cutting it with this type of ham but each to their own tastes. I also occasionally add rosemary and a bay leaf, but not always, and thyme does just as well alone. I don't know why this one is titled simplified cassoulet as it is very close in ingredients to the traditional which is a long list, although the timing is much less. Yet it is all well worth the effort involved. I think it is also a very enjoyable dish to make, layering your ingredients and simmering it to perfection, savouring the wonderful scent it makes as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefofthevalley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Magadan, Magadan Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Cassoulet is a labor of love but this at least drastically cuts down on the labor. I had to make a few changes due to neccessatity: use pork shoulder instead of lamb because it is hard to find here, and used chicken thighs with skin-on for the duck. If brine the chicken thighs prior to cooking them, they develop a flavor similar to duck confit. And I have found the flavor is best if you let everything sit overnight and do the last baking the next day. Is this the same as cassuolet a French restaurant? No, but it is doable at home and captures all the great flavors without slaving for 3+ days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

How to Make Cassoulet

A classic white bean casserole with bacon, sausage, and duck confit.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States