Simple and Delicious Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
It Was Great, but I used unsalted butter instead of margarine. The whole family loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Made this as per the recipe. I wouldn't quite call this a sponge cake, but I read the reviews beforehand so I knew what to expect. It was great as a base for my strawberry shortcake. Not something I would eat plain as a cake or cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was so simple and delicious! I was worried that the batter was too thick but it turned out fine. I also added 1/2 c. carob chips, and made 12 cupcakes from this recipe. For cupcakes I reduced the time to 20 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Quick and easy, but the end result seemed more like cornbread than cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I'm not sure what this recipe actually makes, but it certainly isn't sponge cake. As others have said it is similar to a biscuit. I was disappointed by it's dryness and blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHoTai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
It seemed too simple to be true-and it was. Not a sponge cake, not quite shortcake, and much too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawndale, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Dry. Hard. Unappetizing. I followed the recipe verbatim and was sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I was looking for a cake recipe to make for my son's 2nd birthday and this is one of the ones I tried. I didn't like the flavour of the margarine in the cake, and it was also bit too eggy for my taste. I would like to make this recipe one more time but I don't recommend it at this moment. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was a great base for strawberries and whipped cream. The resulting cake was more of a shortcake than a sponge cake. I followed the directions exactly as written, but found the recipe to be slightly flawed. The directions state to mix the margarine and sugar in a large bowl, but in a large bowl they can't blend effectively. The small amount of ingredients called for by this recipe would blend better in a smaller bowl. I would recommend the addition of some vanilla or almond extract for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States