Simple and Delicious Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Wow! So easy & quick & delicious! I had left over rotisserie chicken, kale, zucchini and homemade chicken broth that I needed to hurry and use before they went bad. I sauteed some red onions and red bell peppers, and as one recommendation suggested, I also add potatoes and red pepper flakes. After tasting it, I realized I also had some cheese tortillini in the freezer & added those right at the end - it made this recipe absolutely perfect! I also added grated parmesan on top just before serving. What a great way to use up everything in the fridge without waste & my husband scarfed it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen
Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Surprisingly delicious. Added a few things though - package of vegetable flavored quinoa (don't remember the brand), two tablespoons of crushed garlic, 1/2 tsp cumin and an additional cup (at least) of broth. The quinoa thickens it up and adds a bit of protein to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Easy, healthy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was a nice change from the other kale soups that I make like (Olive Garden's which I prefer), but welcomed the change of flavors this one gave. I pretty much kept to the recipe but did use some cherry tomatoes for the small tomato (what I had on hand) and I did add a clove of garlic while sauteing the onion. I did cook a little longer at the end, just because I wanted the kale cooked a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Easy, quick, and easily adaptable to any pallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Really enjoyed this soup. I did double the recipe and added about four cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This recipe was fabulous, and so simple yet so tasty!! I had no cannelloni beans but had some red potatoes from the garden. I boiled 5 medium sized red potatoes that were cubed in a vegetarian chicken broth. In a separate pan I sauteed a full onion and about 6 cloves of garlic that I minced in a food processor. I took a host of tomatoes from the garden and pulsed them in the food processor and added it to the onions and garlic and reduced this mixture. This I added to the potatoes and kale. I always de-stem kale (the main stem), I think it reduces the bitterness - I also chopped it finely. I used no other spices other than extra salt and pepper. It really needs nothing. So impressive and simple. I WILL make this again - so easy to add variable vegetables from the garden. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indy_J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I think this is my new all time favorite soup! I have made so many different variations of this recipe by using what I had on hand. Instead of olive oil I use coconut oil and add about 4 cloves of fresh garlic...I've added cabbage, zucchini, crushed red pepper, you name it. It gets better every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by radmila
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I used cannelloni beans also, adding 1/2 tsp of turmeric and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper, and some salt towards the end. Also, before i added in the kale, i massaged it with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States