Simple and Delicious Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Surprisingly delicious. Added a few things though - package of vegetable flavored quinoa (don't remember the brand), two tablespoons of crushed garlic, 1/2 tsp cumin and an additional cup (at least) of broth. The quinoa thickens it up and adds a bit of protein to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Easy, healthy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was a nice change from the other kale soups that I make like (Olive Garden's which I prefer), but welcomed the change of flavors this one gave. I pretty much kept to the recipe but did use some cherry tomatoes for the small tomato (what I had on hand) and I did add a clove of garlic while sauteing the onion. I did cook a little longer at the end, just because I wanted the kale cooked a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Easy, quick, and easily adaptable to any pallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Really enjoyed this soup. I did double the recipe and added about four cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This recipe was fabulous, and so simple yet so tasty!! I had no cannelloni beans but had some red potatoes from the garden. I boiled 5 medium sized red potatoes that were cubed in a vegetarian chicken broth. In a separate pan I sauteed a full onion and about 6 cloves of garlic that I minced in a food processor. I took a host of tomatoes from the garden and pulsed them in the food processor and added it to the onions and garlic and reduced this mixture. This I added to the potatoes and kale. I always de-stem kale (the main stem), I think it reduces the bitterness - I also chopped it finely. I used no other spices other than extra salt and pepper. It really needs nothing. So impressive and simple. I WILL make this again - so easy to add variable vegetables from the garden. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indy_J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I think this is my new all time favorite soup! I have made so many different variations of this recipe by using what I had on hand. Instead of olive oil I use coconut oil and add about 4 cloves of fresh garlic...I've added cabbage, zucchini, crushed red pepper, you name it. It gets better every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by radmila
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I used cannelloni beans also, adding 1/2 tsp of turmeric and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper, and some salt towards the end. Also, before i added in the kale, i massaged it with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
great easy fast recepie. I used ready cut kale in a bag and reduced sodium broth. Because of that, I did have to add s/p and some salt free spice from costco to give more flavor. I used yellow tomatoes since that is what i had on hand but look forward to using red tomatoes next time. I would double the recepie to have enough for a family of 4. Might even add more broth, more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Delicious and wholesome, for lunch or a light supper. I added a cup more broth and used cannelloni beans as suggested by an other reviewer and added some hot sauce and grated Parmesan before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Eastcott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States