Simple and Delicious Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Surprisingly delicious. Added a few things though - package of vegetable flavored quinoa (don't remember the brand), two tablespoons of crushed garlic, 1/2 tsp cumin and an additional cup (at least) of broth. The quinoa thickens it up and adds a bit of protein to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Easy, healthy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was a nice change from the other kale soups that I make like (Olive Garden's which I prefer), but welcomed the change of flavors this one gave. I pretty much kept to the recipe but did use some cherry tomatoes for the small tomato (what I had on hand) and I did add a clove of garlic while sauteing the onion. I did cook a little longer at the end, just because I wanted the kale cooked a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Easy, quick, and easily adaptable to any pallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Really enjoyed this soup. I did double the recipe and added about four cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This recipe was fabulous, and so simple yet so tasty!! I had no cannelloni beans but had some red potatoes from the garden. I boiled 5 medium sized red potatoes that were cubed in a vegetarian chicken broth. In a separate pan I sauteed a full onion and about 6 cloves of garlic that I minced in a food processor. I took a host of tomatoes from the garden and pulsed them in the food processor and added it to the onions and garlic and reduced this mixture. This I added to the potatoes and kale. I always de-stem kale (the main stem), I think it reduces the bitterness - I also chopped it finely. I used no other spices other than extra salt and pepper. It really needs nothing. So impressive and simple. I WILL make this again - so easy to add variable vegetables from the garden. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indy_J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I think this is my new all time favorite soup! I have made so many different variations of this recipe by using what I had on hand. Instead of olive oil I use coconut oil and add about 4 cloves of fresh garlic...I've added cabbage, zucchini, crushed red pepper, you name it. It gets better every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by radmila
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I used cannelloni beans also, adding 1/2 tsp of turmeric and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper, and some salt towards the end. Also, before i added in the kale, i massaged it with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
great easy fast recepie. I used ready cut kale in a bag and reduced sodium broth. Because of that, I did have to add s/p and some salt free spice from costco to give more flavor. I used yellow tomatoes since that is what i had on hand but look forward to using red tomatoes next time. I would double the recepie to have enough for a family of 4. Might even add more broth, more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Delicious and wholesome, for lunch or a light supper. I added a cup more broth and used cannelloni beans as suggested by an other reviewer and added some hot sauce and grated Parmesan before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Eastcott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States