Simple and Delicious Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I'm always surprised how easy and delicious this is. I get tons of Kale from my CSA so this is one way to get it eaten while fresh! I usually add whatever needs to go, I affectionately call this 'kitchen sink soup'. Typically I add garlic with the onions, and cayenne before the liquid and a can of corn. I have added green beans, chard, zucchini...you name it! You can't really go wrong. It's a canvas waiting for your touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynne Baruch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Wow! So easy & quick & delicious! I had left over rotisserie chicken, kale, zucchini and homemade chicken broth that I needed to hurry and use before they went bad. I sauteed some red onions and red bell peppers, and as one recommendation suggested, I also add potatoes and red pepper flakes. After tasting it, I realized I also had some cheese tortillini in the freezer & added those right at the end - it made this recipe absolutely perfect! I also added grated parmesan on top just before serving. What a great way to use up everything in the fridge without waste & my husband scarfed it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen
Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Surprisingly delicious. Added a few things though - package of vegetable flavored quinoa (don't remember the brand), two tablespoons of crushed garlic, 1/2 tsp cumin and an additional cup (at least) of broth. The quinoa thickens it up and adds a bit of protein to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Easy, healthy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was a nice change from the other kale soups that I make like (Olive Garden's which I prefer), but welcomed the change of flavors this one gave. I pretty much kept to the recipe but did use some cherry tomatoes for the small tomato (what I had on hand) and I did add a clove of garlic while sauteing the onion. I did cook a little longer at the end, just because I wanted the kale cooked a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Easy, quick, and easily adaptable to any pallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Really enjoyed this soup. I did double the recipe and added about four cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This recipe was fabulous, and so simple yet so tasty!! I had no cannelloni beans but had some red potatoes from the garden. I boiled 5 medium sized red potatoes that were cubed in a vegetarian chicken broth. In a separate pan I sauteed a full onion and about 6 cloves of garlic that I minced in a food processor. I took a host of tomatoes from the garden and pulsed them in the food processor and added it to the onions and garlic and reduced this mixture. This I added to the potatoes and kale. I always de-stem kale (the main stem), I think it reduces the bitterness - I also chopped it finely. I used no other spices other than extra salt and pepper. It really needs nothing. So impressive and simple. I WILL make this again - so easy to add variable vegetables from the garden. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indy_J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I think this is my new all time favorite soup! I have made so many different variations of this recipe by using what I had on hand. Instead of olive oil I use coconut oil and add about 4 cloves of fresh garlic...I've added cabbage, zucchini, crushed red pepper, you name it. It gets better every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States