Simple and Delicious Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
this frosting was soo sweety and creamy I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AiymaSnikies

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
My favorite cupcake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Super yummy! Added lemon extract to it! Heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I was making a cake and realized I'd forgotten to get icing at the store. Now I'll never buy it again! This recipe is absolutely delicious. My husband devoured it and wanted me to make more just for him to eat- no cake needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This buttercream frosting is the BEST I've ever made. I did end of adding an extra half cup or so of powdered sugar, and it came out perfectly. I used a stand mixer and let it run for a good 10 or 15 minutes, scraping the bowl every so often. I ended up with a light, whipped frosting with a lovely flavor, so it's worth the time it takes to let it get to that point. This will the only buttercream frosting I'll need from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I tried this buttercream frosting because I had all of the ingredients on hand. The directions were clear and easy, and not the problem. The problem is the shortening in the buttercream frosting. That combined with the butter was one I wasn't satisfied with. Yep, I'm a buttercream snob. I want 100% butter. But it took this recipe to figure that out and I'm grateful for the experience. So it is on to other buttercream frosting recipes...and next time, the best butter I can buy. Another lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TaraJo1979
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I just made this frosting for my baby girl who turns 10 tomorrow and will be celebrating with her class. it was easy and I added food coloring to the frosting to make a soft purple and a electric blue! the frosting left a iridescent tint so adding the colors made it really beautiful! thank you tons and you have officially been added to my recipe box! GOD BLESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginny Steward
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I needed a frosting that didn't have cream, to frost 24 cupcakes. I read another review that said that doubling the recipe didn't frost 24 cupcakes when piping, so I played around with the calculator to make my measurements easy. I calculated up to 38 serving which made the measurements for butter and shortening exactly one cup. Needless to say I have quite a bit left over that I'm hoping freezes well, because it's in my freezer :) Anyway, I kept all measurements the same for 38 servings, except the confectioners sugar. It called for 6 1/3 cups and I used one bag, which is about 5 cups. 5 cups worked for me, it was sweet enough but not too sweet. This frosting is so light, yet hold up to piping. I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Steward
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinF
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
My first foray into buttercream frosting....made as written and the flavor is wonderful...I agree...no more store bought frosting...made more than enough to frost a 13X9 cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Super easy & good I'm no baker ! My kids ate 24 cupcakes within a day !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States