Simple and Delicious Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TaraJo1979
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I just made this frosting for my baby girl who turns 10 tomorrow and will be celebrating with her class. it was easy and I added food coloring to the frosting to make a soft purple and a electric blue! the frosting left a iridescent tint so adding the colors made it really beautiful! thank you tons and you have officially been added to my recipe box! GOD BLESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginny Steward
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I needed a frosting that didn't have cream, to frost 24 cupcakes. I read another review that said that doubling the recipe didn't frost 24 cupcakes when piping, so I played around with the calculator to make my measurements easy. I calculated up to 38 serving which made the measurements for butter and shortening exactly one cup. Needless to say I have quite a bit left over that I'm hoping freezes well, because it's in my freezer :) Anyway, I kept all measurements the same for 38 servings, except the confectioners sugar. It called for 6 1/3 cups and I used one bag, which is about 5 cups. 5 cups worked for me, it was sweet enough but not too sweet. This frosting is so light, yet hold up to piping. I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Steward
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinF
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
My first foray into buttercream frosting....made as written and the flavor is wonderful...I agree...no more store bought frosting...made more than enough to frost a 13X9 cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Super easy & good I'm no baker ! My kids ate 24 cupcakes within a day !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I tweeked this a little, I used coconut oil instead of the shortening, and cut the sugar, which turned out maybe not as stiff for a really nice piped decoration version, but tasted great, and I'm a novice at pipe work any how, ha..ha..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crewe, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
the best frosting recipe I've ever used!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle Dankert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe! I use it all the time and have never had any problems. You can reduce the sweetness if you don't have that biggest sweet tooth by simply adding less powdered sugar. Sometimes I add 1/4 cup less to the frosting and it hasn't affected it in any way. All around a great recipe and I will continue using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This is a wonderful frosting. Easy to make, worked perfectly for decorating sugar cookies. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe. It's only the third frosting I've ever made...this is tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe for several birthday cakes now for my daughters and it is really easy and tasty. I use butter flavored shortening, and add a tiny bit of salt and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States