Simple and Delicious Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
The first time I tried this, I didn't have all ingredients and substitutions don't work. Today I did it exactly as directed and it came out perfect! I beat it a little longer to give it a lighter consistency, so now it's more of a whipped than a buttercream but it's delicious regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
it was my first time trying to make my own butter cream this was super easy and super yummy I think this recipe is going to have me only making my own icing for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
It came out kinda watery, But it tasted great so I'm using it as a glaze :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Good, but it was more "buttery" than I like my frosting to be, and therefore much too rich. When I made it the second time, I used only 3 tablespoons of each fat and upped the milk to 3 tablespoons (but kept the sugar and vanilla the same). I liked it much better - it wasn't so cloying after the alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I love this recipe, easy to make and turns out every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
The taste was good but the consistency was never how they are in the pictures (except for the second one). Whenever I tried to use this recipe to decorate my cakes/cupcakes with, I usually just got a gloppy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Now I can make frosting as good as my sisters.YIPIE....Soooooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is a great recipe-the mixture of butter and shortening stabilizes the frosting without detracting from the flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made many different versions of buttercream and I really like this one. Too often they end up too sweet but I think the combo of the shortening and salted butter (or in my case I added 1/4 tsp of salt as I didn't have salted butter) gives it a great texture and flavor. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fred Cannon
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Doubled the recipe, added 3/4 cup of cocoa and 2 tsp of instant coffee dissolved in a little hot water for a chocolate buttercream. Was a delicious, decadent frosting for my mother's 80th birthday cake. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States