Simple and Delicious Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I just saute in olive oil in a big skillet and skip the blanching part to save washing a pan. First I thinly slice the stems and add them first to get a bit of a head start on the leaves then slice the leaves in thin strips (the bunch at a time). When wilted it is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I had never had beet greens before and I thought this was a very good, easy dish to prepare. I did not use the red pepper flakes as I have an 8 year old who does not like anything spicy, but it would probably be a good addition. I plan to make this again and I think I will try adding some crumbled bacon to it next time for a little twist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Outstanding. I had never thought of putting the greens in cold water after boiling. That really kept them fresh. I used more olive oil. Forgetting to season the green while cooking I put kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper on the greens as I served them. My dinner guests loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was delicious - we were scraping our plates. I added more red pepper and added the juice of 1 (small) lemon as the greens were sauteing. Added a little crumbled feta to the top. So good, I'm going to have to go out and get more greens. I think this would be equally delicious with any kind of green - chard, kale, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I omitted the crushed red pepper but added two slices of sliced and chopped sweet onion in with the garlic and olive oil before adding the beet greens. Very good and this will be a staple in my recipes to cook. LOVED and ususally I do not like beet greens. Five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Super good. Super easy. I sauteed some shallots and added some beets (I love cooked beets), along with some shrimp. What a great, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Delicious is the word to describe these greens. I followed everything except I used some of the lemon juice in the greens. I think fresh lemons and garlic make a big difference. I love these! I'd eat the whole pot, but I need to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Good. I prefer greens to be baked up crispy with olive oil and salt or seasoned salt and eaten like a chip. My husband was a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
delish. can't wait to add something on top like goat cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss jackson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Delicious!!! I used ground cayenne pepper and 4 cloves of garlic (the more the better) and it was a huge hit at the dinner table! We will definitely use this recipe again. We'll try this method with other greens as well. It's a keeper. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States