Simple and Delicious Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
delish. can't wait to add something on top like goat cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss jackson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I had never had beet greens before and I thought this was a very good, easy dish to prepare. I did not use the red pepper flakes as I have an 8 year old who does not like anything spicy, but it would probably be a good addition. I plan to make this again and I think I will try adding some crumbled bacon to it next time for a little twist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Good. I prefer greens to be baked up crispy with olive oil and salt or seasoned salt and eaten like a chip. My husband was a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Couillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I just saute in olive oil in a big skillet and skip the blanching part to save washing a pan. First I thinly slice the stems and add them first to get a bit of a head start on the leaves then slice the leaves in thin strips (the bunch at a time). When wilted it is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Super good. Super easy. I sauteed some shallots and added some beets (I love cooked beets), along with some shrimp. What a great, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Outstanding. I had never thought of putting the greens in cold water after boiling. That really kept them fresh. I used more olive oil. Forgetting to season the green while cooking I put kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper on the greens as I served them. My dinner guests loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Really delicious! The blanching helps immensely. Perfect amount of garlic and really pretty contrast of green leaf and red stems. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
If you want to make the most of your beets and eat the greens as well, this recipe is okay but we didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good stuff. I've been able to get beet greens cheap or free at farmer's markets. Ask! The guy told me they were just going to give them to a pig farmer. If your greens look sad, crisp them up in cold water for a little bit. Then refrigerate. You'll be surprised how they perk up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
What a great recipe! It looks like Beet Greens are going to become a frequent flyer in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States