Simple and Delicious Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
delish. can't wait to add something on top like goat cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss jackson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I had never had beet greens before and I thought this was a very good, easy dish to prepare. I did not use the red pepper flakes as I have an 8 year old who does not like anything spicy, but it would probably be a good addition. I plan to make this again and I think I will try adding some crumbled bacon to it next time for a little twist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Good. I prefer greens to be baked up crispy with olive oil and salt or seasoned salt and eaten like a chip. My husband was a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I just saute in olive oil in a big skillet and skip the blanching part to save washing a pan. First I thinly slice the stems and add them first to get a bit of a head start on the leaves then slice the leaves in thin strips (the bunch at a time). When wilted it is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Super good. Super easy. I sauteed some shallots and added some beets (I love cooked beets), along with some shrimp. What a great, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Outstanding. I had never thought of putting the greens in cold water after boiling. That really kept them fresh. I used more olive oil. Forgetting to season the green while cooking I put kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper on the greens as I served them. My dinner guests loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Really delicious! The blanching helps immensely. Perfect amount of garlic and really pretty contrast of green leaf and red stems. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
If you want to make the most of your beets and eat the greens as well, this recipe is okay but we didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good stuff. I've been able to get beet greens cheap or free at farmer's markets. Ask! The guy told me they were just going to give them to a pig farmer. If your greens look sad, crisp them up in cold water for a little bit. Then refrigerate. You'll be surprised how they perk up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
What a great recipe! It looks like Beet Greens are going to become a frequent flyer in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States