Simple and Delicious Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Easy and real good. I used butter, double the garlic and seasoned with sumac. Great way to use garden fresh beet greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Kessler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great recipe for healthy eating. I sautéed some onion along with the diced stems in olive oil for a few minutes, then added the garlic. I tossed in some real bacon bits I had in the refrigerator, then added the chopped beet greens along with the red pepper flakes. After about a minute, I added some apple cider vinegar rather than the lemon. Just like the extra kick it gives. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delicious! I put a little bit of lemon zest on the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Good just as it's written! I didn't change a thing and my picky husband loved it. Definitely going on my "repeat" lists. And even better because you can do the bulk of preparation beforehand. (We ate it too fast to get a photo!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Very tasty. I won't throw those greens away again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This recipe is a great place to start. I put the greens in unsalted boiling water for 60 seconds. I had a big bowl with olive oil, fresh pressed garlic, and salt ready. With a slotted spoon I transferred the greens directly to this big bowl and stirred it around. If you cook it for 1 minute you can skip the rinse and cool step. I cook spinach the same way and now I know beet greens do well with this method. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed this and I loved them as well. If you boil fresh greens for longer than 1 minute their nutrients will start to leach out into the water; you don't want your greens to shrivel up, they should still be leaf looking and not in a mound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Loved this. I had bags and bags of beet greens from the garden. I made one batch and ate the whole thing myself. I skipped the blanching and added half a vidalia onion, served it with a small side of mashed potatoes. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Damon
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
So, so tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe! Didn't use lemon; will try that next time. I love sauteed greens with garlic and red pepper, but never thought about cooking in water beforehand. Great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
First time having beet greens and definitely a winner. Followed the recipe except for a few changes. I did not use red pepper flakes. Cut the stems into small dice and sauteed with minced garlic and spring onions in olive oil until tender. The lemon juice is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETONE76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States