Simple and Delicious Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used cayenne instead of red pepper flakes because I had no flakes in the house. Also I used a big thumb-size shallot with the garlic, all finely chopped. I happened to have tops from 6 large beets, used them all. So tasty that I ate the whole thing for supper! This recipe is so easy to make. I'll keep it in my bag of tricks, though my husband won't go near it. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is a simple and delicious recipe. No need to blanch the greens prior to sauteing them, they cooked up perfectly straight into the pan. I added a touch more garlic than called for, and then squeezed the juice of half a lemon over the cooked down greens just before serving. It was all devoured and my son was dipping bread in the remaining pan juices while I cleaned up the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I've never like cooked beet greens but ate them for nutrition, so I wasn't expecting this to be so delicious! I did add about one teaspoon of maple syrup (because I added too much lemon juice) but it was so good I will eat them like this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It was easy and the result was very tasty. I bought the beets at our farmers' market so the greens were fresh and pretty. The next time I use this recipe I will use apple cider vinegar in the place of lemon. I find beets to be a bit pricey so I am glad to have a recipe for the greens. Actually, I would buy beet greens without the beet if they were available, I liked the results of this recipe so much. It tastes a bit like Swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was delicious and super easy. I used a combo of beets, swiss chard and some weird green from the farmer's market. Didn't use the lemon and it was still great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I got a bunch of beet greens in my CSA box and was anxious to try them out so I decided on this recipe because it sounded so easy. I was pleasantly surprised with the ease of preparation and the incredible flavor this dish had! I left out the red pepper flakes on accident and it was still great. I used some green garlic that also came in the CSA box but followed the directions exactly. They almost tasted like sauteed spinach without leaving the "spinach film" on my teeth which is AWESOME! This might even been good with some shredded parmesan, but why mess with what's a tasty, easy, and healthy dish. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I combined some other suggestions and sautéed onion, mushrooms, shrimp and garlic before adding the blanched beet greens. I also topped with parmesan cheese. Very tasty. Next time I'll serve it on pasta to make a heartier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
When I firs saw this recipe I thought I have to try this and I am so glad I did. I was so blown away by how good this turned out. I did NOT change a thing, I am going to make this again this week for my friends. Love Love Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I love this recipe, it got me eating greens all the time now. I cooked collard greens the same way and they turned out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was the best! Blanching them first makes themsweeter. Carmelizing the garlic and onions also adds to the sweetness. The capers adds a nice balence to the sweet. I didnt have capers so I used green olives which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States