Simple and Delicious Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I got a bunch of beet greens in my CSA box and was anxious to try them out so I decided on this recipe because it sounded so easy. I was pleasantly surprised with the ease of preparation and the incredible flavor this dish had! I left out the red pepper flakes on accident and it was still great. I used some green garlic that also came in the CSA box but followed the directions exactly. They almost tasted like sauteed spinach without leaving the "spinach film" on my teeth which is AWESOME! This might even been good with some shredded parmesan, but why mess with what's a tasty, easy, and healthy dish. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I combined some other suggestions and sautéed onion, mushrooms, shrimp and garlic before adding the blanched beet greens. I also topped with parmesan cheese. Very tasty. Next time I'll serve it on pasta to make a heartier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
When I firs saw this recipe I thought I have to try this and I am so glad I did. I was so blown away by how good this turned out. I did NOT change a thing, I am going to make this again this week for my friends. Love Love Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I love this recipe, it got me eating greens all the time now. I cooked collard greens the same way and they turned out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was the best! Blanching them first makes themsweeter. Carmelizing the garlic and onions also adds to the sweetness. The capers adds a nice balence to the sweet. I didnt have capers so I used green olives which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I bought some beets at the local farmers' market. The leaves were so green and fresh (unlike what I buy at the grocery), I didn't want to waste them. I am so glad I found this recipe. I doubled the garlic (we love garlic) and added a small chopped onion. I also chopped some of the beet stems and sauteed them with the onion and garlic. Thank you for a great way to use the beet greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
simple & delicious....very fitting title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Really good, I was glad to be able to do something with the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
followed directions; added pine nuts and mushrooms, and squeezed 1/4 lemon juice into skillet in step 2. served over whole wheat shell pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CROBSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Pretty much exactly what the review says: simple and delicious. I used minced garlic as I didn't have any cloves on hand. Even my 7 year old daughter eagerly ate them (and they smelled marvelous, too). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States