Simple and Delicious Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Very tasty. I won't throw those greens away again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This recipe is a great place to start. I put the greens in unsalted boiling water for 60 seconds. I had a big bowl with olive oil, fresh pressed garlic, and salt ready. With a slotted spoon I transferred the greens directly to this big bowl and stirred it around. If you cook it for 1 minute you can skip the rinse and cool step. I cook spinach the same way and now I know beet greens do well with this method. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed this and I loved them as well. If you boil fresh greens for longer than 1 minute their nutrients will start to leach out into the water; you don't want your greens to shrivel up, they should still be leaf looking and not in a mound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Loved this. I had bags and bags of beet greens from the garden. I made one batch and ate the whole thing myself. I skipped the blanching and added half a vidalia onion, served it with a small side of mashed potatoes. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Damon
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
So, so tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe! Didn't use lemon; will try that next time. I love sauteed greens with garlic and red pepper, but never thought about cooking in water beforehand. Great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
First time having beet greens and definitely a winner. Followed the recipe except for a few changes. I did not use red pepper flakes. Cut the stems into small dice and sauteed with minced garlic and spring onions in olive oil until tender. The lemon juice is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETONE76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I really liked the lemon before serving. Took the bitterness out of the beet greens. Served with Artichoke Spinach Lasagna and Roasted Romanesco, Broccoli, and Cailiflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I liked this simple recipe. I added beets to give it a little extra somthin' somethin'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Loved this recipe. The lemon makes it! After the garlic was done I added 1/4 cup of water and the stems cut to about 1 inch. I popped the lid on the pot and let them cook until tender. Then I added the rough cut beet greens and another 1/4 cup of water and covered the pot again. When the greens were wilted and the water had cooked off I removed from the pot from heat and squeezed on the juice from 1/2 of a lemon and stirred in into the greens. I served the greens with additional wedges of lemon. (Just because I had them in the frig. I tossed in some carmelized onions and sauteed mushrooms with the beet greens.) That addition was compatible and we thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I'm thinking I'll try this recipe again using kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used cayenne instead of red pepper flakes because I had no flakes in the house. Also I used a big thumb-size shallot with the garlic, all finely chopped. I happened to have tops from 6 large beets, used them all. So tasty that I ate the whole thing for supper! This recipe is so easy to make. I'll keep it in my bag of tricks, though my husband won't go near it. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States