Simple and Delicious Beet Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe! Didn't use lemon; will try that next time. I love sauteed greens with garlic and red pepper, but never thought about cooking in water beforehand. Great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
First time having beet greens and definitely a winner. Followed the recipe except for a few changes. I did not use red pepper flakes. Cut the stems into small dice and sauteed with minced garlic and spring onions in olive oil until tender. The lemon juice is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETONE76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I really liked the lemon before serving. Took the bitterness out of the beet greens. Served with Artichoke Spinach Lasagna and Roasted Romanesco, Broccoli, and Cailiflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I liked this simple recipe. I added beets to give it a little extra somthin' somethin'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Loved this recipe. The lemon makes it! After the garlic was done I added 1/4 cup of water and the stems cut to about 1 inch. I popped the lid on the pot and let them cook until tender. Then I added the rough cut beet greens and another 1/4 cup of water and covered the pot again. When the greens were wilted and the water had cooked off I removed from the pot from heat and squeezed on the juice from 1/2 of a lemon and stirred in into the greens. I served the greens with additional wedges of lemon. (Just because I had them in the frig. I tossed in some carmelized onions and sauteed mushrooms with the beet greens.) That addition was compatible and we thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I'm thinking I'll try this recipe again using kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used cayenne instead of red pepper flakes because I had no flakes in the house. Also I used a big thumb-size shallot with the garlic, all finely chopped. I happened to have tops from 6 large beets, used them all. So tasty that I ate the whole thing for supper! This recipe is so easy to make. I'll keep it in my bag of tricks, though my husband won't go near it. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is a simple and delicious recipe. No need to blanch the greens prior to sauteing them, they cooked up perfectly straight into the pan. I added a touch more garlic than called for, and then squeezed the juice of half a lemon over the cooked down greens just before serving. It was all devoured and my son was dipping bread in the remaining pan juices while I cleaned up the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I've never like cooked beet greens but ate them for nutrition, so I wasn't expecting this to be so delicious! I did add about one teaspoon of maple syrup (because I added too much lemon juice) but it was so good I will eat them like this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I just tried this recipe. It was easy and the result was very tasty. I bought the beets at our farmers' market so the greens were fresh and pretty. The next time I use this recipe I will use apple cider vinegar in the place of lemon. I find beets to be a bit pricey so I am glad to have a recipe for the greens. Actually, I would buy beet greens without the beet if they were available, I liked the results of this recipe so much. It tastes a bit like Swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was delicious and super easy. I used a combo of beets, swiss chard and some weird green from the farmer's market. Didn't use the lemon and it was still great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States