Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Awesome recipe. Recommend using multigrain best for bread flour for the whole amount. Turned out great, this is now my go to. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Pietracupa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Shilo, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I really wanted this recipe to work. I tried it 2 times over the weekend. Both times it did not rise a lot in the second rise and every time I punched it down, it did not rise anymore in the oven. Followed the recipe and made no changes - I kneaded by hand. The taste was great and the family liked it but I was not satisfied with the denseness of it. I know it did not rise like I would have wanted it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I absolutely LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! I have never made homemade bread before and this was extremely easy and tasty to make. My entire family loves this bread. My three year old requests this for dessert! My six year old told me not to buy bread anymore that he just wants this bread. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
We made this recipe twice in the same day and it was a bomb. We followed directions to a tee yet both times the dough did not rise as expected. ( Note: we went back to the store and got different yeast to use in the second batch) In both cases we put the dough in the oven at the right time hoping it would bake. The end result looked like large bullets for a tank. Even though 3rd times a charm I don't think we will try making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is the best bread recipe I have ever tried. I used all purpose white flour as opposed to bread flour. The bread turned out light, moist, and overall absolutely perfect. Thank you Nita for making my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natersmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My husband doesn't normally eat whole wheat bread. This bread is the exception. Occasionally, chooses this bread over his favorite white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Ah-Ma-Zing! I've never made bread before, but WOW this was so good. I used the trick I found in one of the reviews to turn on the oven for 1 minute, then turn it off and put in the dough to rise. It doubled in no time flat. Next time I will try increasing the wheat and reducing the bread-flour like others have done, but only for the health benefits. This was super-yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mekaret27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I literally just popped these out of the oven and they are really good! I was certainly surprised because this was my first try at whole wheat bread. I used half of each ingredient and tried even less of the white flour (used about 2 cups).I substituted the honey for brown sugar since I had none being that this was a quick whip up. My next batch of these will hopefully be next weekend and I'll be going for only whole wheat flour. I saw some great suggestions from other bakers which I will surely keep in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I halved the recipe... It made 2 medium size loaves. The consistency is very good. U can easily slice and use as sandwich bread. I used White Whole Wheat flour and I used vegetable oil instead of butter. It's a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States