Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I used the dough to make rolls for a family gathering. I made one substitution by using all wheat flour (Prairie Gold All Natural White Whole Wheat). They were light and fluffy with a slightly sweet flavor. This will definitely be my new go to recipe when I forget to soak the night before;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was my second attempt to make bread. The recipe was easy to follow. For being a noob at bread making, the other reviews and video were invaluable. I bet I watched it 5 or 6 times. The recipe says 3hrs to ready. I think it was closer to 5+ for me. Some of that is because I'm a noob. But, it also took a lot longer than I was expecting for the bread to rise in the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe worked great. I worked in seeds (sesame and pumpkin) in one loaf for great dinner bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is an excellent recipe, It rose very nicely and it was light and fluffy. I did substitute the honey for sugar and used All purpose Flour. I also added a cup of finely grounded chia seeds and flax seed meal. As indicated in the recipe you will need to use more whole wheat flour when your kneading. This is my second time ever making bread and thought it was super easy and will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Yummy bread, just made it and can not stop eating it !!! This was my first time baking bread, and I am very happy with the result + it is so easy to make. Thank you for a great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Awesome. Exactly what I'd expect from a whole wheat bread. Make sure to cool on a cooling rack and not in the pan. The only change I used was using vegetable oil instead of butter (I was too impatient to melt butter, and didn't see the point as it's more expensive). Next time, for a healthier version I will use melted coconut oil. I love replacing it for most oils in my baking and sometimes cooking. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This recipe was so incredibly easy, that even I could make it! I couldn't believe how good it tasted. I would say that I used 2 parts lecithin oil and 1 part vegetable oil in a mixture to coat my bowl and bread pans with. Thank you, Nita!! I'm loving this, and so is my family! BTW: I made two large loaves instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I googled best honey wheat bread recipes and this recipe and Honey Wheat Bread I came up in the top. This recipe got a ton more reviews, but the other won a country fair blue ribbon and also received 5 stars from allrecipes. I've made both in case anyone, like me, was wondering which was better. Hands down Honey Wheat Bread I. I think it's the addition of milk and I substituted the melted shortening for butter. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachelkathryn
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I used this recipe for my first time baking bread (besides beer bread and banana bread, which don't require yeast or nearly as much time), and I'm really pleased with the results. It tastes great, and the instructions are easy to follow (even for beginners like me). I'm definitely planning to use this recipe again, and I think it's a cheaper and healthier alternative to a lot of store-bought options-- plus, who doesn't prefer fresh bread over the pre-packaged loaves they sell at the grocery store? This is a great recipe for tasty, versatile bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Perfect! I only bake with 100% whole wheat and it comes out perfect, every time, never fail! This is my go-to for kids lunches & the perfect toast! I have even substituted the yeast with my own sourdough starter & that worked out well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States