Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is my new go-to recipe for homemade bread! It turned out absolutely perfectly. Not too sweet, not too "whole wheaty" and the texture is dense yet fluffy. It did take longer for it to rise for me, probably because our house was cold. We all love this recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa Dior Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is hands down the BEST one I've tried. I've been making this recipe twice a month for 4 months. I slice it up once it has cooled off and wrap the loaf multiple times in plastic wrap. I then throw it in the freezer so that it will last longer. Whenever I want a slice or two I'm able to just grab it out of the freezer and put the rest back in. I'm addicted to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have been using this recipe for a while with great success. I never have to use any more than 5c plus 2c of flour and usually get three perfect loaves, and though the ingredient list calls for 1/3 c honey and the method tells you to add it twice - I only add the 1/3c. I wanted to share though, today I decided to use the Richard Bertinet method of working the dough, and oh my gosh the difference. My bread is almost ready to come out of the oven, and it is twice as big as usual. My loaves are HUGE! They are almost touching the top burner, and they kind of stuck together because I didn't space them enough for that amount of growth in size, and I've had to move them apart. I will probably be able to get 4-5 loaves with the same recipe just because of his method. If you haven't tried it. youtube it and give it a go. If you are looking for a fluffier lighter loaf this is probably the answer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I haven't even bought bread since I tried this recipe. I've made 4 batches exactly as the recipe is written. It has been perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Best whole wheat bread recipe ever!!! I didn't have any bread flour so i just made all with whole wheat flour and it turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fran Corrow
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Wow! this is by far my family's favorite wheat bread recipe. I tried using a different recipe and they new and ask for this one immediately. I made some adjustments in order to bake in my OSTER BREADMAKER. Comes out light and fluffy. Not dense. Just perfect for sandwiches. In a bowl combine: 2 cups warm water 1 package yeast 1/3 cup brown sugar 2 cups white flour Mix well and pour in breadmaker pan. Wait 30 min or until big and bubbly as noted above. Then add the following ingredients: 3 tbsp butter 1/4 cup brown sugar 1.5 cup wheat 1/2 cup oatmeal 1/3 cup sunflower seeds Select "Rapid Bake" for 1.5 to 2 pound loaf. That's it! I have added a picture of it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Corrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Best sandwich bread EVER! This one is a keeper. Followed recipe exactly. What I like most is that this looks like traditional sandwich bread. Nice and fairly square which makes it perfect for school lunches. And the taste is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
We love this bread! I make 2 loaves and use the rest to make 10 dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was a GREAT recipe! I used all white whole wheat flour. Mine didn't rise quite as much as in the pictures but I may not have been patient enough. Tastes great and isn't as dense as some whole wheat breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Willie
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this bread a few time and could never get the dough to rise above the pan and it looked kind of like melba toast. This is what I did to make one loaf. I adjusted the serving size to 18, like a loaf and a half. I used three teaspoons of yeast and substituted the honey with sugar, but just for the first rise. For the mix, I added the honey and other ingredients accordingly. Since the NEW serving size was a loaf and a half, I lowered the oven temp to 340 degrees and baked the loaf for an additional 6 to 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States