Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great recipe! I modified a little after I read other reviewers. I used more whole wheat than bread flour (2:1) and cut recipe in half and made one large loaf. As I usually do when I bake any bread, I dissolve sugar (honey) in warm water and mix dry yeast and wait until foaming, and mix all liquid ingredient, then add one cup of flour at a time in Kitchen Aid mixer. Once mixed, I turn up to level 2 for 3 min with dough hook, then take dough out, rest 15 min then knead with hand for 5-8 min. When you bake, I put baking dish with shallow water on the lowest oven rack. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kunimi Togashi Ehresmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe! I've never been able to successfully bake a loaf of bread. Ever. I tried this recipe today and I did it! I did it, I did it, I did it!!!! And it's wonderful! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Great recipe! Very forgiving. I've been able to manipulate this into a 10 grain wheat bread and it still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
the bread turned out awesome! I usually prefer white, but this bread is soft and more flavorful than most white breads I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This really is a wonderful recipe. I am very inexperienced with baking, and this was my first time ever making dough completely from scratch without a bread maker. And it turned out perfectly! And the bread is so delicious! I had been having trouble making whole wheat breads in my bread machine, and will never go back now that I know about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Just made this recipe tonight and it was pretty simple, definitely time consuming but that was expected with a bread recipe. I love that its made with Honey instead of sugar. I think next time I am going to split this recipe into 2 instead of 3 in hopes of making larger loaves that can be used as sandwich bread, the loaves split into 3 make fairly small loaves. Overall I really like it and will definitely make this again! Oh, and I followed the recipe exactly, didn't change a thing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I am a dunce at baking bread but this turned out great! I did proof the yeast before combining it with the flour and I added a few tablespoons of vital gluten, as well as increasing the percentage of whole wheat flour and adding some 7-grain cereal to the mix. My only difficulty with this bread was that I should have baked it longer. I left it in the oven for 35 minutes but it was still a little doughy. Wonderful taste though and it rose beautifully. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Amazing bread. Easy to make. I used this recipe to make bread for the first time and it came out just wonderful. It's slightly sweet, but you can still toast it and have with eggs or just spread on some butter and enjoy plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is the best loaf of wheat bread I have ever made. I only made one loaf and froze the other two. We'll see if they are as perfect as the one just made. This is definitely a recipe to put in my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I scaled this recipe to 12 servings/1 loaf to make in my bread machine. I used 1 cup warm milk, 2 1/4 tsp yeast, 4 tbsps honey, 2 tbsps butter melted, 1 tsp salt, 1 c all purpose flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup Robin Hood Omega 3 plus flax whole wheat blend and 1 tbsp vital gluten. Used 3 lb, light crust and whole wheat settings. Enjoyed this bread will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States