Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I googled best honey wheat bread recipes and this recipe and Honey Wheat Bread I came up in the top. This recipe got a ton more reviews, but the other won a country fair blue ribbon and also received 5 stars from allrecipes. I've made both in case anyone, like me, was wondering which was better. Hands down Honey Wheat Bread I. I think it's the addition of milk and I substituted the melted shortening for butter. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachelkathryn
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I used this recipe for my first time baking bread (besides beer bread and banana bread, which don't require yeast or nearly as much time), and I'm really pleased with the results. It tastes great, and the instructions are easy to follow (even for beginners like me). I'm definitely planning to use this recipe again, and I think it's a cheaper and healthier alternative to a lot of store-bought options-- plus, who doesn't prefer fresh bread over the pre-packaged loaves they sell at the grocery store? This is a great recipe for tasty, versatile bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Perfect! I only bake with 100% whole wheat and it comes out perfect, every time, never fail! This is my go-to for kids lunches & the perfect toast! I have even substituted the yeast with my own sourdough starter & that worked out well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Halved the recipe and it came out beautifully. Easy to follow instructions and wonderful flavor. Sugar can sub for honey. I also added a half cup of sunflower seeds with when incorporating the whole wheat flour and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a while now, and it is perfect every time! I have subsituted sugar for the honey when I had none in the cupboard. I've also added a much higher amount of whole wheat to the a/p flour ratio with GREAT success. The dough is soft and elastic and is also great for buns. I love this recipe for everydays bread use; toast, sandwichs and my favourite is grilled cheese! It browns so nicely on the outside and has a wonderful nutty flavour from the whole wheat. Might be more time consuming, but totally worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, and it went over very well both times. I made this in the morning and my husband ate all the bread I packed for his lunch on his drive to work! I also formed part of the dough into rosette rolls and froze them after the first rise. I used AP flour, since I don't have bread flour or vital wheat gluten on hand. I think the bread turns out a little airier and less elastic, but it works for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Euclides Netto
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good starter recipe. But I ended up using less whole wheat flour then called for. If you leave the dough more sticky it will produce a softer, fluffier bread. Also it will be more moist. Thanks from Brazil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euclides Netto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Yep, by far the best whole wheat I've baked. I used buckwheat honey as it is what I had- it is a dark honey almost reminiscent of molasses. Turned out very good. Nice soft bread texture(not too dense or fluffy, moist, flavorful. Excellent - this will be a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ciara DeBell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This was my 1st attempt at bread and it was easy! I used 2 pans as suggested by others and used my Kitchenaid mixer to knead the dough. I was short on honey, so I used sugar also, but cut the total amount used by at least half to avoid having it too sweet. I also didn't think all the butter was necessary, so I only added 2T instead of 3, and did not coat the finished loaf with butter and it's still not hard 3 days later. The taste is similar to store loaf bread, but slightly heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States