Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is good, and the whole and white flour combo gives it a great texture and flufiness. If yours didn't come out right, there's a reason for every scenario. No bread is "fool proof." Even if you're new to bread baking, there are helpful sites where you can troubleshoot your bread issues, such as baking a "brick." Did you do the window pane test? Did you over mix the dough? That's why home baking is so awesome: it's not the exact same thing each time. It's not cheaper to bake at home. We do it to ensure that we are eating wholesome ingredients and, simply for the fun of it. Good luck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Awesome Recipe! Makes wonderful sandwich bread! I also use the dough to make runza's and stromboli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I am new to making bread. I have made rolls before but not bread. I followed the recipe as written and it came out perfect. I made 2 regular bread and one cinnamon raisin bread. The recipe is very easy to follow and easy to make. Mixing it with a mixer helps make it easier. This is the recipe to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abby
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
it turned out okay considering I've never made bread before. I did not have honey, but used Karo syrup. I think I did not knead the bread correctly so I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I bake bread every week. I've made this one many times and I can say it's one of the best wheat bread recipes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Turned out great! My only complaint was that it needed salt...then I looked at the recipe again and saw that it was there, I just missed it! Don't skip the salt. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I joined allrecipes just to review this recipe! I've been baking bread for over 40 years, and this is hands-down the best recipe I've found. I followed the recipe exactly other than substituting whole spelt flour for the whole wheat (it's what I had). It tastes incredibly good, the texture is perfect, and it makes wonderful sandwiches and toast. It's especially good with added dried cranberries, chopped almonds and cashews. I mixed and kneaded it with my Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook then covered it with a damp cloth and put it in the oven (slightly warmed and turned off) to rise. The recipe made four mini loaves and two standard loaves. From now on, this is the only bread recipe I'll use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was my first time making bread and it came out great! I used 3 cups of regular white flour (not bread flour) and substituted 2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of white flour to first step. I also did not need to add so much flour while kneading (I used less than a cup of flour that I poured on the counter while kneading until I got the desired texture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariella Mansfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I usually do not like wheat bread but mu hubby bought wheat flour on accident so I thought I would try this out. It turned out fantastic! I cut the recipe by a third so that I would end up with two loaves as I didn't think my KA could handle the whole recipe. And I was right, it would not have been able to. I followed the recipe as written however, I forgot to add the second amount of honey. It didn't matter. It turned out wonderful. We (the kids and I) ate a full loaf right out of the oven with butter and jam. We ended up eating it all night and didn't even make dinner. haha. Very good! a keeper for sure! Just follow the recipe and it'll turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I have tried this simple whole wheat bread it was amazing!!I will definitely make his again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States