Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This bread is delicious. I made a mistake on gambling on yeast packets that were 2 months to expiration...so I didn't get the rise that I wanted. I followed some suggestions and added 2 tbs of gluten and 1/2 cub of 7 grain hot cereal with flax from Bob's Red Mill. The only problem is that it didn't rise enough. I missed up on some of the waiting instructions too. Even messing up on all of this I got a smaller loaf..soft...nice color...absolutely yummy. I will do it again and try to not mess up. Thanks everyone for the ideas. The video is nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna McCullough

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe a couple times and feel in love with it I use white flour in place of the wheat bc I am allergic to wheat I also replaced honey with Agave. It is so delicious we had some tonight after it came out of the oven with dinner I love the ends of the bread. Nothing better then homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmccopwife43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terryville, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Wonderful fluffy bread! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This bread is so easy to make and it turns out fantastic!! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Awesome recipe. Recommend using multigrain best for bread flour for the whole amount. Turned out great, this is now my go to. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Shilo, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I really wanted this recipe to work. I tried it 2 times over the weekend. Both times it did not rise a lot in the second rise and every time I punched it down, it did not rise anymore in the oven. Followed the recipe and made no changes - I kneaded by hand. The taste was great and the family liked it but I was not satisfied with the denseness of it. I know it did not rise like I would have wanted it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I absolutely LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! I have never made homemade bread before and this was extremely easy and tasty to make. My entire family loves this bread. My three year old requests this for dessert! My six year old told me not to buy bread anymore that he just wants this bread. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
We made this recipe twice in the same day and it was a bomb. We followed directions to a tee yet both times the dough did not rise as expected. ( Note: we went back to the store and got different yeast to use in the second batch) In both cases we put the dough in the oven at the right time hoping it would bake. The end result looked like large bullets for a tank. Even though 3rd times a charm I don't think we will try making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is the best bread recipe I have ever tried. I used all purpose white flour as opposed to bread flour. The bread turned out light, moist, and overall absolutely perfect. Thank you Nita for making my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natersmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States