Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Yep, by far the best whole wheat I've baked. I used buckwheat honey as it is what I had- it is a dark honey almost reminiscent of molasses. Turned out very good. Nice soft bread texture(not too dense or fluffy, moist, flavorful. Excellent - this will be a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This was my 1st attempt at bread and it was easy! I used 2 pans as suggested by others and used my Kitchenaid mixer to knead the dough. I was short on honey, so I used sugar also, but cut the total amount used by at least half to avoid having it too sweet. I also didn't think all the butter was necessary, so I only added 2T instead of 3, and did not coat the finished loaf with butter and it's still not hard 3 days later. The taste is similar to store loaf bread, but slightly heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This recipe was perfect! I have been trying to make bread at home, without a bread machine, for a while with limited success. This is great. I will try all whole wheat next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Such a great sandwich bread!! I make it every week!! I use a stand mixer to knead and it comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I make this bread regularly! Based on personal preferences, I use about half of the honey recommended and let it rise longer. That way it's fluffier and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I put an egg white wash mixed with honey on top of the bread the rest of the recipe I followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
wow this is great I just used a little butter on this bread toasted and can I just say yum yum yumyumyummity yum bring your dry yeast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Everyone that's tried it has loved this bread. I found that after putting it into loaf pans it takes double the time to rise, but that's probably because I add oats and flax seed to the recipe. If you want to add walnuts, oats, flax, whatever, I add them when you add the first two cups of whole wheat flour. The added ingredients tend to soak up a lot of the moisture and you don't want to be stuck with bone-dry dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Heylin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Wow!! These loaves are AWESOME! They are beautiful. I won't be using any other recipe again. I'm so excited for my family to try this. I would like to add some grains n thinks but unsure how? How do I configure recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States