Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
The best bread I have ever made! I hate rating recipes when I alter them...but I subbed one cup of oatmeal for one of the cups of white flour and added flax and sunflower seeds. Flavor and texture was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is an AWSOME recipe! It works every time for me. Just follow the instructions and you got it! I put the dough to rise in a cold oven with the light on. I let it rise higher than this video because I like my bread light and airy. You gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
LOVE,LOVE,LOVE!!! I was very hesitant to try the recipe but, I am glad I did. I did not have bread flour. I used all purpose flour and white whole wheat flour! The results were amazing! The bread was very soft and it did not fall apart when the loaf was getting cut. I made two loaves of bread and six sandwich rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I have used this recipe for a few years now and it is amazing! I add 4-6 tbsp of vital wheat gluten, and use all whole wheat flour. I usually grind my own flour from hard white wheat berries that I have on hand. It works great as sandwich bread and is a delicious treat with homemade jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misslittlelady
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
To start off with, I live at 7000 feet elevation, so baking has been quite difficult for me to master. However, I have refused to give up. This is probably the tenth bread recipe that I have tried, and the first loaf of bread that's come out PERFECT! Usually, my bread comes out too hard, too crumbly, the crust is an ugly bubbly looking thing, and it never browns. But with a couple high altitude tweaks, not a single problem occurred. What I changed: - I preheated my oven at the end of step 2, so the oven was completely hot when I put the loaf in. - I preheated it to 375 instead. - I filled a pie pan half full with water and put in on the bottom rack of my oven during preheating and baking. This was so the bread wouldn't dry out too fast. - In step 2, I started with only using half the whole wheat flour while kneading, and added more to the dough as it got stickier. Once I could turn it 2-3 times without it sticking I stopped. - I cut the baking time down to 20 minutes. - I only baked one loaf at a time (but this is because I only have one bread pan). I really hope my tips will help anyone who is having difficulties baking at high altitude. And needless to say, I will most definitely be baking this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
THE FIRST WHEAT BREAD RECIPE THAT WORKED!!!!!! Every wheat bread recipe I have EVER made has failed horribly up to now!! I can't believe how beautiful these loaves turned out not to mention delicious!!!! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for posting this amazing, delicious treat!!! My husband is incredibly picky and he ate nearly a whole loaf by himself!!! This will forever be my go to wheat bread base/recipe and I have no problem adding goodies to it!! Thank you again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
What a delicious bread! It was so moist and even the crust was yummy (which I barely ever eat). Will never buy store bought bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Very good bread. The outcome looks just like the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This was my first attempt at baking anything, this bread was so soft and delicious, I'm definitely making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Excellent! I let my yeast prove before adding the first addition of flour. I use all purpose four as that is what I have on hand (4 cups + 1 cup whole wheat) for the 2nd addition of flour I use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup mixed oats (usually some combo of oats, ground flax, flax seed, sunflower seeds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States