Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
When it said you may end up adding 2-4 cups more of flour, I probably only added a cup and a half more at that point. I put a shallow layer of hot water in the sink in put the bowl and then the pan in the water when the dough was rising. I may divide the dough in 2 instead of 3 for bigger loaves next time. The bread turned out fluffy, soft, with just enough substance and sweetness. Really good stuff and directions were straight forward to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
The best! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Just made this recipe. Made 3 great loaves of bread. Have been looking for a good recipe for a while. Next time I'm going to make 1/3 of the recipe in my bread machine. Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ingnuty
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I just finished this bread, and it turned out pretty well. I cut the recipe in half and made a single loaf in a silicone bread pan. There were no issues with rising, and I followed the directions. However, I used 1tbl of yeast, 1.5c water, 2.5c bread flour, 1tbl honey, 2c whole wheat flour, 2tbl margarine, 1/6c granulated sugar. On the second rise, it took 45-50min (and was lightly coated in olive oil for the rise), and then another 35min in the pan (brushed with honey and sprinkled with slivered, chopped almonds) and baked for 30min. It is a very moist bread but next time I make it, I will add an egg. We'll see how it turns out when I slice it for sandwiches as I made it specifically for ham sandwiches this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I love this recipe. I add about a 1 1/2 cups of a mixture of sunflower seeds, flax, slivered almonds, poppy seeds and a little extra butter. Instead of loaf pans, I make three balls and place on cookie sheet to rise. I also brush the tops with an egg and sprinkle with rolled oats before baking. Always a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I've decided to start making my own bread as a potentially healthier option for my family. I tried this recipe and it actually turned out amazing my first time. I followed the directions exactly and will continue to do so until I am a more experienced bread maker, but for a first timer, I highly recommend this recipe. Sweet, delicious and the stone ground whole wheat adds a little nutrition! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
my hole family loves this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kamiko3588

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I have never been able to make bread. I specialize in bricks, but this was just amazing. The family loves it. On my second batch baking now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is a very good recipe. Very light and fluffy. Lots of honey and plenty of hydration. The flour amounts might be confusing for beginner. It looks like you add the white flour first, then add 2 cups wheat, and up to an additional 2-4 cups wheat. What it means is you add 2 cups of wheat flour but, might have to add up to an addition 2 cups (4 cups total). Although the 3 and 1/2 cups listed in the recipe will do for most climates. I made 2/3 of a recipe and made one smaller loaf in an 8.5 x 4.5 pan and one large round freeform loaf ball. Both came out great in 30 minutes. I had a few tablespoons of unused wheat flour when I made it. I used a standing mixer with a dough hook and the dough eventually pulled away from the bowl after 6-8 minutes of kneading on medium. It was still quite sticky when transferring it to the bowl for rising. But after an hour of rising (in an oven heated to 175 F and then turned off) it was easy to pick up and divide. I let it rise about 45 minutes at room temperature after punching it down and shaping it. I don't know why most recipes say to bake wheat bread at 375 instead of 350. 375 works great for dense crispy-crusted whole grain bread. But 350 for 30 minutes was great for a nice decadent fluffy load. This certainly isn't the healthiest wheat bread out there, but it is so tasty. If this didn't work for someone, either they misread the recipe and added 2 or more cups too much flour or had bad yeast, or water that was too hot, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
So simple & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States