Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe as written and the bread turned out beautiful. I froze two loaves and when I thawed them, they were as soft and moist as the fresh loaf. My only suggestion is that you should always knead bread for at least 10 minutes, this helps immensely with the rising process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is an incredible recipe. I have just started baking my own bread, and wasn't always happy with the results. with a couple of minor tweaks, this one is just about perfect. I start with whole wheat or multigrain bread flour - 5 cups mixed in with the water, yeast and honey, with 4 to 5 tablespoons of essential gluten. Then I use white bread flour in the second step. The dough rises beautifully, handles like a dream and I always get 3 good sized loaves - sometimes a little extra for some freeform rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Awesome love it! Super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb
Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megihal
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I tried it a couple of years ago as a first time bread baker and have made it every week since. I use it as our staple sandwich bread, but also throw in a handful of rosemary and garlic occasionally to serve in chunks with dinner. I also switch between honey and brown sugar in this recipe depending on what I have on hand. Would give this 10 stars if I could...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is easy to make and the taste is out of this world! It takes a good amount of honey. If you have access to any local, fresh, non store bought honey, use that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rberkee
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I been on a bread tear all month long and I'm happy to report that this recipe is the winner. By far. Way better than that pesky Amish White Bread listed on the site. The idea of just a few hours of rising time is a absolute joke though. I admit, we keep the house pretty chilly, but, for me, this bread took almost 8 hours to rise all told. I usually just prepare it in the morning, put it covered in the sunny windowsill and then go about my day. I use one, refrigerate one, and freeze one and that usually last me and my boyfriend a month at least. Get some pepper jack and make yourself a grilled cheese sandwich that will blow your mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
So yummy! This bread is fail-safe, for sure. My first attempt at sandwich bread and I sure picked a good one! My only complaint is that it is a little too sweet, so i'll cut back on the honey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
We love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom27busybees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
First time making it, second time ever making bread, it came out wonderfully. I did substitute sugar for honey, I have no complaints and plan on making double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe three times now. I do all of my mixing in my KitchenAid mixer with the dough hook. Hand kneading is for plebs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States