Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe except that I used all whole wheat flour and added flax, hemp and sunflower seeds. Turned out great! I'll use this as a basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I follow the recipe as it states and its so good. My picky eaters even love this bread. I also love that it makes three loaves because they get eaten quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This bread is delicious! My husband isn't a huge wheat bread fan and he couldn't get enough of it. The butter on top is a wonderful idea and the sweet and salty flavors balance nicely. I got 2 loaves out of it, not 3, which is just fine by me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Five stars even though it isn't truly whole wheat bread. I followed directions exactly, and it is delicious! I make bread in the bread machine weekly but this is the first time doing it all by hand and it turned out perfectly. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
When it said you may end up adding 2-4 cups more of flour, I probably only added a cup and a half more at that point. I put a shallow layer of hot water in the sink in put the bowl and then the pan in the water when the dough was rising. I may divide the dough in 2 instead of 3 for bigger loaves next time. The bread turned out fluffy, soft, with just enough substance and sweetness. Really good stuff and directions were straight forward to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
The best! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Just made this recipe. Made 3 great loaves of bread. Have been looking for a good recipe for a while. Next time I'm going to make 1/3 of the recipe in my bread machine. Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ingnuty
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I just finished this bread, and it turned out pretty well. I cut the recipe in half and made a single loaf in a silicone bread pan. There were no issues with rising, and I followed the directions. However, I used 1tbl of yeast, 1.5c water, 2.5c bread flour, 1tbl honey, 2c whole wheat flour, 2tbl margarine, 1/6c granulated sugar. On the second rise, it took 45-50min (and was lightly coated in olive oil for the rise), and then another 35min in the pan (brushed with honey and sprinkled with slivered, chopped almonds) and baked for 30min. It is a very moist bread but next time I make it, I will add an egg. We'll see how it turns out when I slice it for sandwiches as I made it specifically for ham sandwiches this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I love this recipe. I add about a 1 1/2 cups of a mixture of sunflower seeds, flax, slivered almonds, poppy seeds and a little extra butter. Instead of loaf pans, I make three balls and place on cookie sheet to rise. I also brush the tops with an egg and sprinkle with rolled oats before baking. Always a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I've decided to start making my own bread as a potentially healthier option for my family. I tried this recipe and it actually turned out amazing my first time. I followed the directions exactly and will continue to do so until I am a more experienced bread maker, but for a first timer, I highly recommend this recipe. Sweet, delicious and the stone ground whole wheat adds a little nutrition! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States