Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This bread came out fantastic. I would make this over and over again! I cut the recipe in half incase I didn like the bread and I ended up using whole wheat flour for the whole recipe. Since wheat flour is a bit denser I ended up using less flour. Otherwise my measurements were 2.5 cups wheat flour at first mixed with 1/4 oz yeast, 1/6 cup of honey and 1 1/2 warm water. The mixture will be sticky at first so I let it ride for a good 30 minutes. I pressed it down and added about 1 1/4 cup wheat flour, 1/6 cup honey, sprinkle of salt, and 1 1/2 tablespoon honey. I kneeded the dough and let it rise for a good hour. I kneeded the dough one last time in my bread baker and let it rise for one hour in a warm area and baked it on 350 for approximately 25 mins. Melted one tablespoon of butter I poured over and sprinkled with rolled oats. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Linn
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This bread is the BOMB. I love it as is, but my DH is picky, and his complaint is that it's too crumbly for a sandwich. It might just be the environment in my kitchen when I made it. I tried adding a homemade dough enhancer - wheat gluten, potato flakes, and a very small amount of white vinegar - and it came out PERFECT. It held together with very little crumb. This is definitely now my go-to bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Great recipe! It is first bread that turned out perfectly! On my taste it was too sweet for me, so next time I will reduce the amount of the honey. Otherwise, it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Whole wheat bread is made only with whole wheat flour, this is a hybrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Menendez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ajparker159
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This is my first bread. I made this last night and didn't follow directions. it was a fail. I just made it again and followed directions exactly and this bread is amazingly perfect. I'm pretty proud of myself and this recipe is pretty awesome for ham sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaden Alcocer
Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA
Photo by Jelly Otis
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I have found it. the most elusive homemaker food has finally been caught. I have been trying for so long to find a recipe that I could make that would taste good and have just the right amount of fluff. here it is. a million thanks for Giving the world this gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Best whole wheat bread I've ever made! My family loved it! Thank you! Only change I made was I used white whole wheat flour and I halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Simply awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dhara Shah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This is a great recipe. I only use 2 cups white flour and the rest whole wheat. my kids love it. I also use it as a base for cinnamon/raisin bread. To do that I add 1 cup of raisins to the water yeast mixture and follow directions until you kneed it after rising in the greased bowl. Then roll it out very thin just before putting it into the bread pans to rise, rub milk over the surface and spread 1 cup of sugar mixed with 3 tablespoons of cinnamon over the surface and then roll it up and cut into 3 loaves, tuck ends under and put into pans to cook. Very Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States