Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I've made this recipe a few times now and it always comes out moist, delicious and perfect. I sub olive oil for the butter that goes in the dough and it still tastes great. Don't skip the butter on top. It seeps in and really boosts the flavor. I only use 2 bread pans to make sandwich size loaves. PERFECT for grilled cheese sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
FANTASTIC. I enjoy cooking but am not much of a baker. This bread made me look like a pro! My husband even admired the loaf before it was baked--it looked that appetizing. Rose and baked beautifully and he said it was delicious. I've baked bread before but it's never turned out this well--the sponge step makes ALL the difference. If you like me have been meh about baking bread, try this excellent recipe and get ready for the admiration! Thank you, Ms. Crabb, for this wonderful recipe! ETA: Came back to add that yesterday a 5-lb. bottle of Costco honey appeared on my kitchen counter! Hmmmm..........I think it's a hit with the husband! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This recipe tasted amazing and wasn't to difficult! My only problem was getting it to rise so my bread was a little bit flat, but I blame that on myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This recipe is WONDERFUL! My family eats one loaf as soon as it emerges from the oven. I make two regular loaves, then roll out the other and sprinkle cinnamon-sugar all over it before rolling it back up. Also, instead of melting butter, I rub the end of a stick of butter over the tops while hot, skipping the brush and the melting step, while not using any more butter than is necessary. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I did this soooo many times,so I thought hey why not comment? THE BEST!simple, fun and good. Just, this only makes me 2loafs (I like BIG bread) so I was a bit disappointed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this yesterday after seeing the recipe. I found the powered gluten and was so happy to use that. I think I added a little bit too much flour as even my kitchen aid had a hard time. I failed to see it said add 2 cups first then more as you go. But it was delish, and I think I ate half the loaf myself. Gave one to my friend and the other in the freezer. Best recipe!!!Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is a great recipe, I was very impressed by the results. Soft enough that it is a delight to bite into and yet just the right density and chewiness. I did grind my own whole wheat flour and used raw honey and it yielded fantastic results. I was a little skeptical after the dough was kneaded as it seemed a little too soft and wet, but it worked out just fine. I did follow another reviewers tip for it rising in the oven and it worked splendidly. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mastic Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I made a vegan version based on this recipe, substituting the butter with coconut oil, using spelt flour instead of whole wheat, and exchanging the sugar with the same amount of equal-parts light agave nectar and grade A maple syrup. It turned out very delicious! Best bread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerulean Lotus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is a very forgiving recipe and amenable to a lot of changes. The first time I made it, I made no changes excepting I never use bread flour, adding 3T. of gluten. The crust and crumb is lovely for slicing and toasting. Since the first time, I add all the ingredients excepting the AP flour, proofing the yeast while the butter melts and the honey pours. Then mix and let the whole mess rest for about 30 minutes. I then knead in the AP flour via mixer then by hand. Oh, I also use only about 3 cups of AP flour increasing the whole wheat or substituting ground oatmeal. I don't bother with the melted butter at the end. This has become my standard whole wheat recipe, thank you Nita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This is a great recipe, made two loafs and the last loaf I made buns. They were perfect for sandwiches and will be awesome for burgers. Making this again for guests at our B&B, it's that good! Will use it for stuffed French toast and just plain old toast. Nothing better than homemade with a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States