Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ajparker159
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This is my first bread. I made this last night and didn't follow directions. it was a fail. I just made it again and followed directions exactly and this bread is amazingly perfect. I'm pretty proud of myself and this recipe is pretty awesome for ham sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaden Alcocer
Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA
Photo by Jelly Otis
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I have found it. the most elusive homemaker food has finally been caught. I have been trying for so long to find a recipe that I could make that would taste good and have just the right amount of fluff. here it is. a million thanks for Giving the world this gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Best whole wheat bread I've ever made! My family loved it! Thank you! Only change I made was I used white whole wheat flour and I halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Simply awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dhara Shah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This is a great recipe. I only use 2 cups white flour and the rest whole wheat. my kids love it. I also use it as a base for cinnamon/raisin bread. To do that I add 1 cup of raisins to the water yeast mixture and follow directions until you kneed it after rising in the greased bowl. Then roll it out very thin just before putting it into the bread pans to rise, rub milk over the surface and spread 1 cup of sugar mixed with 3 tablespoons of cinnamon over the surface and then roll it up and cut into 3 loaves, tuck ends under and put into pans to cook. Very Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I've made this recipe a few times now and it always comes out moist, delicious and perfect. I sub olive oil for the butter that goes in the dough and it still tastes great. Don't skip the butter on top. It seeps in and really boosts the flavor. I only use 2 bread pans to make sandwich size loaves. PERFECT for grilled cheese sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
FANTASTIC. I enjoy cooking but am not much of a baker. This bread made me look like a pro! My husband even admired the loaf before it was baked--it looked that appetizing. Rose and baked beautifully and he said it was delicious. I've baked bread before but it's never turned out this well--the sponge step makes ALL the difference. If you like me have been meh about baking bread, try this excellent recipe and get ready for the admiration! Thank you, Ms. Crabb, for this wonderful recipe! ETA: Came back to add that yesterday a 5-lb. bottle of Costco honey appeared on my kitchen counter! Hmmmm..........I think it's a hit with the husband! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This recipe tasted amazing and wasn't to difficult! My only problem was getting it to rise so my bread was a little bit flat, but I blame that on myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This recipe is WONDERFUL! My family eats one loaf as soon as it emerges from the oven. I make two regular loaves, then roll out the other and sprinkle cinnamon-sugar all over it before rolling it back up. Also, instead of melting butter, I rub the end of a stick of butter over the tops while hot, skipping the brush and the melting step, while not using any more butter than is necessary. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States