Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by robclement
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
It was my first try at making bread and it was awesome.Can not wait to try new breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Just tried this recipe. I have never made bread before and this was wonderfully easy. My kids and husband love it so much I think I am going to be making homemade bread from now on. This time I am going to try a little bit of ground flax seed and see how much it changes the texture and taste. Also thinking about giving some of it away for Christmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This bread makes excellent sandwiches, toast, crouton - everything! I do half honey and half sugar in this recipe. I also add oats, flax seeds and sunflower seeds to my bread to make it extra tasty. This has been my bread recipe for the last year and my husband and I can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this today after school. First of all, for bread, this is a pretty quick recipe. I have an electric oven which most of the time I'm not thrilled with, but I turned the oven on twice during the cycle of making this bread, lowered the temperature to 170 degrees. It would not go any lower. I would leave it on for about 5-10 minutes inbetween the stages of making the bread rise and then turn it off. The warmth made the dough rise nicely. I've never seen a recipe where you add flour after it's already been rising and I was very sceptical of it turning out okay. It was delicious! I did not alter anything and used about one extra cup of wheat flour besides the two you are supposed to add in. This one is a keeper and the best part is that it makes a lot of bread! You could probably freeze a loaf and eat later, but I'm not really sure. I baked it for about 27 minutes and perhaps it could have gone the full 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I've been making this bread for about 3 months now. I have experimented with a lot of different ways. The biggest thing I think could make the recipe not turn out well is the first step. I did it that way the first time, but my dough never got fluffy. Now I mix the yeast, water, and 1/3 cup honey and let it sit for about 30 minutes. Then stir in the 5 cups flour. Then follow the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Crouch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I used the dough to make rolls for a family gathering. I made one substitution by using all wheat flour (Prairie Gold All Natural White Whole Wheat). They were light and fluffy with a slightly sweet flavor. This will definitely be my new go to recipe when I forget to soak the night before;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was my second attempt to make bread. The recipe was easy to follow. For being a noob at bread making, the other reviews and video were invaluable. I bet I watched it 5 or 6 times. The recipe says 3hrs to ready. I think it was closer to 5+ for me. Some of that is because I'm a noob. But, it also took a lot longer than I was expecting for the bread to rise in the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe worked great. I worked in seeds (sesame and pumpkin) in one loaf for great dinner bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This should not be named whole wheat bread since it has 5 cups of white flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is an excellent recipe, It rose very nicely and it was light and fluffy. I did substitute the honey for sugar and used All purpose Flour. I also added a cup of finely grounded chia seeds and flax seed meal. As indicated in the recipe you will need to use more whole wheat flour when your kneading. This is my second time ever making bread and thought it was super easy and will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States