Simple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by megihal
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I tried it a couple of years ago as a first time bread baker and have made it every week since. I use it as our staple sandwich bread, but also throw in a handful of rosemary and garlic occasionally to serve in chunks with dinner. I also switch between honey and brown sugar in this recipe depending on what I have on hand. Would give this 10 stars if I could...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is easy to make and the taste is out of this world! It takes a good amount of honey. If you have access to any local, fresh, non store bought honey, use that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rberkee
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I been on a bread tear all month long and I'm happy to report that this recipe is the winner. By far. Way better than that pesky Amish White Bread listed on the site. The idea of just a few hours of rising time is a absolute joke though. I admit, we keep the house pretty chilly, but, for me, this bread took almost 8 hours to rise all told. I usually just prepare it in the morning, put it covered in the sunny windowsill and then go about my day. I use one, refrigerate one, and freeze one and that usually last me and my boyfriend a month at least. Get some pepper jack and make yourself a grilled cheese sandwich that will blow your mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
So yummy! This bread is fail-safe, for sure. My first attempt at sandwich bread and I sure picked a good one! My only complaint is that it is a little too sweet, so i'll cut back on the honey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
We love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom27busybees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
First time making it, second time ever making bread, it came out wonderfully. I did substitute sugar for honey, I have no complaints and plan on making double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe three times now. I do all of my mixing in my KitchenAid mixer with the dough hook. Hand kneading is for plebs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I tried this as the recipe states; also with multi-grain flour instead and the last time all I used was whole wheat flour. Each variation was better than the last. This recipe made me an expert baker I had never made bread before now I make it weekly. Easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is a wonderful, simple recipe. I like that the bread is good even after the first day. Most of the time homemade bread dries out to quickly but this does not. I will say the title is a little misleading however thats why you should always exam the ingredients before starting. I will keep using this recipe and maybe slowly add more whole wheat flour to the recipe to get it closer to an actually whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States