Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This is only the 2nd time in my life making a whole roasted chicken (because I find them too dry and bland to bother), but after using *this* recipe it may just become a weekly occaision! Not only was this easy to prepare and the flavour outstanding, this was the JUICIEST chicken I have ever eaten - anywhere! I am so impressed with this recipe, I'm going to try this rub/marinade and roasting method with my next holiday turkey. I think roasting it breast-side down may be the key in retaining the flavourful juices. My only changes were to double the spices and add an onion to the cavity with the garlic. Amazing chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
609 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Excellent recipe. I didnt realize I was out of allspice, so I substituted with dried rosemary and pepper. I put 1 cup of water in the bottom of the pan, with quartered potatoes, celery, onions and carrots. Cooked uncovered at 400 for 30 min and then 350 for 45 min. Once the skin was crispy, I covered with foil. It was so tender and juicy. A HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
The savory aroma of the cooking chicken didn't disappoint the eater. My husband loved this roasted chicken. I doubled the spices as other reviewers recommended. I didn't marinade overnight... I just rubbed it in and put it in the oven. I also stuffed it with an onion. Husband has already requested for this chicken again. It was so easy. And the result was a hot, juicy and tender chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I am an extremely picky cooker and eater. My kids could not be pickier. I also love to cook and am considered to be pretty good at it. Having said this, this was the best chicken recipe I've ever made! I followed the advice to double the spices and I did marinate it overnight. I put the spices under the skin and rubbed them inside the bird as well. then I cut slits in the skin to make sure the flavors got in. Being concerned about the smoke issue, I used one of those stand up chicken cookers where you place the bird on two metal arches with a bowl in the middle to catch the juices. I cooked it at 350 for just over an hour and It was perfect. The only things I changed were I sprinkled garlic powder inside and out instead of crushing garlic and I basted it once with some melted butter.This recipe was a total sucess with not one morsel left over. The dogs were going crazy over the smell, but as cinnamon is bad for dogs we did not give them any. This is a great company dish and I plan to make it again this weekend when we have friends over. Absolute perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
AWESOME recipe! I just made it for the first time tripling the spices because I cut out the backbone to butterfly it (and put it under the skin for me to eat) coating both the inside and out, as well as under the skin and marinated in a zip bag only a few hours because that's all the time I had. I roasted a 4 lb chicken with the directions shown butterflied breast down with minced garlic on the inside of the breast, and it is EXCELLENT! My 9 year old even gobbled it up! DEFINATELY will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WATTYZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This recipe is good, my family loves it. At first I was a little hesitant to put sugar and cinnamon on meat, but I'm glad I did, because it's the best whole chicken recipe I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
WOW! We were having guests over and I wanted to serve more than just a basic roasted chicken. I followed advice and doubled the spices, no allspice though. I rubbed the mixture under the skin with the garlic and marinated for the recommended 24 hours. I baked it according to directions, and it came out delicious! The left-overs made a delicious and exotically spiced chicken soup. These are my only changes: #1 Double the spices, mix with grated garlic. #2 Rub under skin, marinate for 24 hours. This is my standard baked chicken now, thanks, Indriani!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lakeffect

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I didn't have allspice and put the seasoning under the skin since we are non skin eaters. Otherwise I made this as written- YUM! It was moist and delicious. I had hoped for leftovers- but my husband and I and his parents ate every single piece of meat off the chicken! We were literally hunting for the smallest morsels that were left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I have made this over and over again just like the recipe, and it is always delicious. I was a little leary at first because it seems to be a strange mixture of spices, but once I tried it, I'm a true fan of this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
this recipe is soo good. my husband loved it, and he wants me to make it like this forever! I will double the ingredients next time for that double flavor, thanks for this recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States