Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great flavor. I put sweet potatoes, carrots and apples, covered it and put it in the oven for a couple hours. The flavors were perfect together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I was very skeptical of this recipe when I first came across it. I got a whole chicken on sale at my favorite grocery store and was looking for a new way to serve it. Looking at all the spices in the rub that goes on the chicken it all seemed very 'sweet' to me, not at all what I was trying to find in a recipe... but I did it anyway and the chicken turned out delicious! Excellent flavoring, it wasn't sweet at all when you actually bite into the chicken. I saved all the drippings and used them as a sauce after I diced the bird up. Will do again! Next time I plan to experiment with adding veggies to the bottom of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I will definately make this again. Very simple to prepare. Had a unique flavor that the whole family loved. I don't know about the cooking upside down or the high heat then dropping it down parts of this recipe. But the flavor was very good. Oh' and I had to add chicken broth because the first 15 minutes into the cooking of this bird, the little juice that did come out blackened on my pan. Would definately recommend a bit of broth being added to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Tried this today and it was really good. Had guest over and the only thing I regret is not having enough for seconds. I did double the seasoning (except the salt) and stuffed the cavity with a small onion along with the garlic. I will be adding this to the meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Simply DELICIOUS! I made a fresh pineapple/mango salsa to accompany it and just for the heck of it, I put the core from the pineapple inside the chicken along with the garlic and an onion...WOW! So good! I will DEFINITELY make this again and again! I just made it again and, I believe, it's even better this time!!! I still put a fresh Pineapple core in it (why mess with perfection, right?)and also stuffed it with garlic, a small onion and some fresh thyme I made http://www.cooks.com/recipe/ik38l56g/jamaican-rice-and-peas.html to accompany it and let me just say, It's so good, You'll wanna slap Yo Mama!!!!!! I also decided that I DON'T want to scrub a pan (child, NO!) so, I used an aluminum roasting pan from the dollar tree (a pack, y'all) and took a piece of foil to lay on top of it when it looked brown enough for me. I did not depend on the handy, dandy built-in thermometer that came on my 9 LB roaster; I used my own that sits outside the oven while it is "plugged into" my chicken ;-) RA A CLEAN oven, NO scrubbing a pan, and the chance to just relax and enjoy my meal! Oh, before I forget, last night when I put this all together to marinate, I took the giblets,some water,onion (leftover, hardly 3oz) and a few soft tips of some celery into a pot and cooked it on a simmer for several hours while I watched tv. When done, I strained it to save to add to the bottom of my pan. PERFECTION! The Temps for this are right! No need for the pineapple either ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I never would have expected this recipe to work out. Boy was I wrong. I thought the spices were a wierd combination and the oven heat and time wouldn't work. Something in my gut made me give it a whirl. Yes the spice combination was different, but it was DELICIOUS! The cooking process made it super MOIST. An absolute winner in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Excellent! Doubled all spiced but excluded sugar and allspice. Added 2tsp each - garlic powder and onion powder instead of fresh garlic. Marinated for 2 hours. Cooked for 15 min at 450, then 45 at 425.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
So easy and delicious. Be sure to add extra baking time if you have a chicken larger than 3 lbs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent. Took a bit longer than advertised but it was tasty and moist. Served it with the recommended Chimichurri Sauce found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States