Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This recipe is great! I've used it a couple times now and my husband really likes it (not a chicken fan). Right before I cook it I also put lemon and onion inside the cavity as well as rub over the top of the breast meat. It keeps it really moist. I also add a little chili powder or Thai spice to the mix for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
After reading so many positive reviews, I wanted to try this recipe. I too wondered about the spices and how they would go with chicken. The sweet flavor result just didn't do it for me. It was good, but I prefer a less sweet, more traditional roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
The chicken burned during the first half hour. Under-cooked afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I would like to know what type of oven the original recipe was cooked in. When I cooked it according to the instructions, in my standard gas oven, it was far from being done. In fact the breast of the chicken was raw inside and looked like it needed another hour of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
family tested and approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
The breast skin was a bit soft due to being upside-down (juices flowed downward) and I prefer crisp breast. The flavors were good but I should have turned over during the cooking process but followed the directions. I will continue baking chicken at 425 degrees with cavity stuffed with olive oil, fresh rosemary and garlic with garlic, salt and olive oil rubbed on the exterior. My family's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This recipe rocked! I did not have time to let it sit for 24 hours so it was only in the fridge for like 2 hours but it was really good. I did add some broth to the pan to help with the basting and I made gravy out of the broth & drippings from the chicken when it was done by just adding some corn starch. Family really liked it and I will make again and try it with the 24 hour prep time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Was in a rush so only marinated my half of a chicken for 1 hour, but it still came out nice and flavourful. Shall definitively keep the recipe but double the spices and replace the garlic that I don't like with chili powder to boost it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
We loved this extremely moist chicken and will definitely make it again and again. I doubled the spices as some other cooks suggested and it was delicious. Be sure to cook breast side down and don't get nervous if the chicken starts to look quite dark after the first half hour. My chicken was 5 pounds and sure enough, it cooked in just a few minutes over a total of one hour. Thanks Indriani for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Lovely flavours. Used a Pyrex dish instead of a roasting pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Berube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States