Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Family loves it. Cook it this way all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This my all time favorite chicken recipe. I've made it multiple times and its been absolutely delicious every time. I always double the seasoning. I made it this evening, and after reading some previous reviews, added red onion to the cavity and bottom of the pan as well as multi colored carrots, and red potatoes. I also put smashed garlic under the skin and some butter too. Holy delicious, batman! The flavor of the veggies were AMAZING and the chicken was nice and juicy! It makes an easy one pot dish that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I used the roasting method only, with a different chicken rub recipe. This method roasts the chicken perfectly! The skin was perfectly crispy and flavorful, and the meat was so moist and juicy! I made sure to baste the chicken with chicken broth every time I changed the oven temp. The only issue was that with the high heat, the drippings in the pan burnt, so I couldn't use them for basting or for the gravy. Hence, the reason for 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have been making this recipe for about a year now. It is superb! I add fresh ground black pepper and turmeric for an extra boost of flavor! Thanks again for such an epic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Ayz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I'm making this tonight, but I just wondered if someone in charge could possibly fix the cooking time--it says 1 day, 35 hours, and 35 minutes. And that's a LOOOOONG time! Will check back in after we have it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I just used a chicken thigh and leg and guestimated the seasonings. I did put the garlic under the skin this time because I found out it burns and taste pretty gross. I made this with some mashed potatoes and for a guy trying to cook it came out pretty great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was a great recipe! It takes a bit of patience as you're slowly tapering the heat so monitoring is required BUT the work was worth it. Also, I did my best to use the drippings but they were not tasty or good which is fine because I really did it for the protein, not the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Best recipe yet. 10/22/2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is so delicious. I would definitely recommend doubling the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Wow. My 22 year old son said it best "I didn't know chicken could taste this good and be this moist". He asked if it was deep fried, he couldn't believe how crispy it was. He also said he could eat it every day. Then he asked if it was possible to make the Thanksgiving turkey this way. I followed others advice and doubled the spices. But instead of adding salt to the mixture of spices, I first rubbed the chicken with kosher salt. Then I rubbed the other spices on after. I did't have garlic, so I just added garlic powder to the spice mixture. I put 1/4 stick of butter in the chicken cavity. I added vegetables in the roasting pan that I happened to have around, sweet potato, yellow onion and whole green onions. My smoke alarms went off after about 10 minutes on 500 degrees, but I didn't even realize it was smoky in the room because it didn't look smoky. I read on other reviews after the fact that some people added water to the roasting pan so the sugars wouldn't burn on the pan. I'm going to do that the next time and I think it'll take care of the smoke alarm issue. I haven't bothered to write a single other review on this site although I use it all the time, but I felt compelled with this recipe because it truly rocked, it exceeded so significantly above what I thought was possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States