Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I'm making this tonight, but I just wondered if someone in charge could possibly fix the cooking time--it says 1 day, 35 hours, and 35 minutes. And that's a LOOOOONG time! Will check back in after we have it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I just used a chicken thigh and leg and guestimated the seasonings. I did put the garlic under the skin this time because I found out it burns and taste pretty gross. I made this with some mashed potatoes and for a guy trying to cook it came out pretty great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was a great recipe! It takes a bit of patience as you're slowly tapering the heat so monitoring is required BUT the work was worth it. Also, I did my best to use the drippings but they were not tasty or good which is fine because I really did it for the protein, not the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Best recipe yet. 10/22/2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is so delicious. I would definitely recommend doubling the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Wow. My 22 year old son said it best "I didn't know chicken could taste this good and be this moist". He asked if it was deep fried, he couldn't believe how crispy it was. He also said he could eat it every day. Then he asked if it was possible to make the Thanksgiving turkey this way. I followed others advice and doubled the spices. But instead of adding salt to the mixture of spices, I first rubbed the chicken with kosher salt. Then I rubbed the other spices on after. I did't have garlic, so I just added garlic powder to the spice mixture. I put 1/4 stick of butter in the chicken cavity. I added vegetables in the roasting pan that I happened to have around, sweet potato, yellow onion and whole green onions. My smoke alarms went off after about 10 minutes on 500 degrees, but I didn't even realize it was smoky in the room because it didn't look smoky. I read on other reviews after the fact that some people added water to the roasting pan so the sugars wouldn't burn on the pan. I'm going to do that the next time and I think it'll take care of the smoke alarm issue. I haven't bothered to write a single other review on this site although I use it all the time, but I felt compelled with this recipe because it truly rocked, it exceeded so significantly above what I thought was possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Love this dish for the family and with mashed potatoes and a green salad....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
LOOOOOOVE this recipe. After trying SEVERAL various roasted chicken recipes, it's become our go-to recipe. We've been cooking it for about four years. Kids love it. Guests love it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Zoch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
OMG! It was so good! I had to alter a couple of things.. I omitted allspice and ground cloves as I didnt have any. Also, I put onions inside instead of garlic for the same reason. It was awesome! The skin was so crispy and delish. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Faddis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Delicious, delicious and did I mention delicious?! OMG what a fall staple! I followed this recipe as directed and the chicken was so juicy and just DELICIOUS! No adjustments needed. It's great with mashed potatoes and gravy..or roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States