Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
First attempt at whole roasted chicken. With this recipe, the chicken was out of this world, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Great flavors. Nice home cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I tripled the spices except for the salt. It was delicious! Used more garlic as well. I loosened nearly all the skin and sprinkled the spices directly on the meat. I also cooked it in the slow cooker for about 5 hours--on low for 4, high for 1. Maybe try making a sauce (gravy) out of the juices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Moist and delicious! I doubled the spices, cut the sugar in half, and rubbed over & under the skin, as suggested by other readers. The flavor was still really sweet, with half the sugar. I've made it 3 times now, and the whole family LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Well, Hello, Chicken! Who knew it could be this good? What a succulent, flavorful experience. At first we weren't sure about this blend of spices, so I made three chickens--this one and two other 5-star recipes as backup. Well, nobody cared about the other chickens, but they were squawking for this one! Couldn't get enough. The spices don't overpower the meat; instead, they blend uniquely to bring out the flavor of the chicken in extraordinary ways. And turning the chicken upside down made the juices run through it like a rotisserie chicken. This should be called something way more unique than "Simple Whole Roasted Chicken." BTW: We doubled the spices (except salt), as suggested by a reviewer, and it was perfect. I could make it this way every time and everyone would be happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Okay. This was only my second time cooking a whole chicken, but it is at least the 10,000th time I've eaten chicken and THIS CHICKEN IS THE BEST. The delicious seasoning and juicy, juicy meat due to the smart use of oven temperatures are worth writing about. I followed some other reviewers comments and doubled the spices (except the salt, and added both garlic and onion to the cavity. I also cooked in ontop of mini red potatoes and put a cup of chicken broth in the bottom of the pan. I butter basted once halfway through. Using an oven meat thermometer made the cooking stress free and I got a perfect chicken. The potatoes were also delicious and my chicken leftovers are still so flavorful! This is going to become a staple in my house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
It was delicious!!!another keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The chicken came out nice, but the spice blend was a little too sweet for my taste. I'd do a different spice rub, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
One thing I loved about this recipe was cooking the chicken breast side down. I always cook my chickens... and turkeys this way. They self-baste, as the fat of the legs and thighs drip down to the breast... always juicy! I did not make this yet, but will definitely try... spices sound heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Very flavorful and juicy! I didn't have time to wait 24 hours, only 1 hour in the fridge before cooking and it still came out great! Next time, I will do the 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States