Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Without a doubt the BEST roasted chicken I have ever tasted! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I followed the directions and the chicken was so tender and moist. Delicious! But, I had to throw away my Calphalon baking pan. Nothing would get it clean after hours of soaking with this and that. I used foil at the bottom of the pan, but the juices leaked through. What a disaster. And the high-temp baking combined with the grease smoked up my kitchen. So, based on the above, I'm giving it only 3 stars. There are other cooking methods that produce a tender and delicious chicken. If I ever make this again, I'll use a disposable pan, and I'd lower the oven temperature. The spices were surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This chicken turned out wonderful. I liked that it didn't have a bunch of butter or oil to make it tender or juicy and it was. I am glad I read the recipe yesterday, because I realized it had to sit in the fridge over-night. I lined 13x9 pan with thick foil instead of doing the rack to save on clean-up. It does make the skin come off the breast when it is finished, but I don't eat the skin anyhow. The spice flavors worked fine for winter or December with the cloves, but I might try the salt over-night with spring or summer flavors during other months. The cook time, or method, worked very well I just added 15 minutes at the end to make sure it was fully done to my personal liking. Edit Note: I had written this review before looking at the pan the next day. I decided to add this after reading the next reviewer as I had the same issue. When I removed the thick foil, I had found that the chicken grease some how strangely had seaped through and completely burned up my 13x9 pan I have had for years. After 3 scrubs and ruining the finish I had to toss it. I also would use a disposable pan if making this. It is possible that a few layers of foil might help with this issue, don't know. My 5 star view is purely on ease and the tenderness of the chicken, which I did enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My husband loved this recipe! Even though I had a cold I could taste how good it was.Def making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miasmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious, and it smelled so good while it was roasting! Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Loved the different spices, however cooking at such high temperatures without covering led to overcooked skin. Second time around I adjusted the oven temperature and covered the chicken for the final 30 minutes, came out with perfect skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was my first time making a whole chicken and my first time adding "sweet" ingredients to chicken, and it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! My husband and kids loved it! I did not have cloves or allspice, but I used ground ginger along with the rest of the ingredients (which I doubled). I did not marinade the chicken, and I stuffed it with onions and minced garlic. I started roasting at 500, but I lowered the temp about 3 times to prevent my fire alarm from going off. Best chicken I ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I loved this recipe. It's so easy and moist. We have it at least twice a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
The first time I saw this receipe I was a little hesitant of the spice combinations, but I made it as directed and it came out great! I have made it several times since only to be asked for the recipe. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dolton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States