Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I never would have picked these spices myself for roasting a chicken but this recipe was the best roast chicken I've ever made. Absolutely delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Varied the recipe by doubling the amount of spices and stuffed cavity with one whole onion cut in quarters (following other reviewers suggestions). Strange flavoring for a chicken...but not unpleasant. My biggest problem with this recipe was the spattering in the oven at these high temperatures. The oven was spotless and now needs to be cleaned. The house has a chicken grease smell that's evident 12 hours after I cooked it. 500 (and then 450) degrees is too hot. The skin burned black...probably the combination of hot oven and sugar that burned. It took 1/2 hour to scrub the baking pan it was in (and that was after soaking in white vinegar!). After the initial 1/2 hour, I turned oven to 350 degrees and just kept checking until temperature was 180 degrees. Breast meat was tender and juicy. I never cooked a chicken upside down before, but I will in the future...that was probably the best thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
We usually eat only half a roasted chicken, however, my family at 3/4 of this one! I used the leftovers to make enchilladas the next day. This is restaurant quality!!! I wouldn't have put these flavors together, but it was a hit. I doubled all the ingredients except the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstovall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great flavor. I put sweet potatoes, carrots and apples, covered it and put it in the oven for a couple hours. The flavors were perfect together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I was very skeptical of this recipe when I first came across it. I got a whole chicken on sale at my favorite grocery store and was looking for a new way to serve it. Looking at all the spices in the rub that goes on the chicken it all seemed very 'sweet' to me, not at all what I was trying to find in a recipe... but I did it anyway and the chicken turned out delicious! Excellent flavoring, it wasn't sweet at all when you actually bite into the chicken. I saved all the drippings and used them as a sauce after I diced the bird up. Will do again! Next time I plan to experiment with adding veggies to the bottom of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I will definately make this again. Very simple to prepare. Had a unique flavor that the whole family loved. I don't know about the cooking upside down or the high heat then dropping it down parts of this recipe. But the flavor was very good. Oh' and I had to add chicken broth because the first 15 minutes into the cooking of this bird, the little juice that did come out blackened on my pan. Would definately recommend a bit of broth being added to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Tried this today and it was really good. Had guest over and the only thing I regret is not having enough for seconds. I did double the seasoning (except the salt) and stuffed the cavity with a small onion along with the garlic. I will be adding this to the meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Simply DELICIOUS! I made a fresh pineapple/mango salsa to accompany it and just for the heck of it, I put the core from the pineapple inside the chicken along with the garlic and an onion...WOW! So good! I will DEFINITELY make this again and again! I just made it again and, I believe, it's even better this time!!! I still put a fresh Pineapple core in it (why mess with perfection, right?)and also stuffed it with garlic, a small onion and some fresh thyme I made http://www.cooks.com/recipe/ik38l56g/jamaican-rice-and-peas.html to accompany it and let me just say, It's so good, You'll wanna slap Yo Mama!!!!!! I also decided that I DON'T want to scrub a pan (child, NO!) so, I used an aluminum roasting pan from the dollar tree (a pack, y'all) and took a piece of foil to lay on top of it when it looked brown enough for me. I did not depend on the handy, dandy built-in thermometer that came on my 9 LB roaster; I used my own that sits outside the oven while it is "plugged into" my chicken ;-) RA A CLEAN oven, NO scrubbing a pan, and the chance to just relax and enjoy my meal! Oh, before I forget, last night when I put this all together to marinate, I took the giblets,some water,onion (leftover, hardly 3oz) and a few soft tips of some celery into a pot and cooked it on a simmer for several hours while I watched tv. When done, I strained it to save to add to the bottom of my pan. PERFECTION! The Temps for this are right! No need for the pineapple either ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I never would have expected this recipe to work out. Boy was I wrong. I thought the spices were a wierd combination and the oven heat and time wouldn't work. Something in my gut made me give it a whirl. Yes the spice combination was different, but it was DELICIOUS! The cooking process made it super MOIST. An absolute winner in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States