Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Wonderful, best chicken I have ever had. I had a hard time with the cooking time and there were no dripping to baste with. I had a 7 lb. farm raised chicken that did not have much fat. So I put some water in the pan and basted it with butter a few times. I also covered it after the skin was nice and brown. I thought it never was going to get done. The wonderful smell was driving us crazy. I have been looking for a recipe for my thanksgiving turkey and this is it. I’m a new member and I’m not sure how this all works but you should repost this for turkey. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. This is one I will keep and pass on:). Also I’m surprised on how someone can change the recipe and rate is with fewer stars because they did not like it. How can you change a recipe and then give it a bad rating when it did not turn out???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
AMAZING!!! That's all I can say! I have roasted hundreds of chickens in the past, but none as good as this. I had a whole cut-up chicken that I seasoned, and I didn't have time to marinate 24 hours. I doubled the spices, but everything else I followed exactly. This is the only way I will roast chicken from now on. Oh, and I put cut-up potatoes and carrots in the bottom of the baking pan and put the chicken pieces on top of those before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
All I can say is WOW! Absolutely delicious. I made a 5 3/4 pound chicken. So I doubled the ingredients. I rubbed under the skin and on top of the skin. Cooked at 500 for 20 minutes, 450 for 20 minutes and 425 for 30-35 minutes. Was perfect! My 8 year old ate 2 legs and said "He wished chickens had 3 leg's"! But he then ate some of the Breast which was very Juicy. Thanks for the great recipe. This is one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Easy to make and was delicious.. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Just made this for the 2nd time - same excellent results - however my husband smoothered it in barbecue sauce to get more flavor. So maybe I won't go through the work again though it is very moist - excellent - turned over near the end to brown better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
i prepared this last night and it was great! my wife and daughter loved it! i also doubled the seasonings. (except for the salt) i added 2 cut up russet potatoes, 1 cut up sweet potato (should have used 2), 4 stalks celery cut in 1/3rds and 3 cups of baby carrots..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawns1ton

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Completely amazing recipe. My family of four loved it so much, my son asked to have it prepared for his birthday dinner. We like it even better after the leftovers were removed from the bone and sauce/drippings were poured over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
My husband thinks this is the best chicken he's ever tasted and has requested it be a weekly item! I haven't had cloves on hand, so I eliminated those and used season salt instead of allspice (again, only because it's what I had). The nutmeg and cinnamon really does it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanBean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great flavor and super moist ! Next time I'll try it as a slow roasted chicken at a lower temperature. The high temps in this receipe made a mess in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The chicken browned nicely. It was moist. My biggest complaint was the splatter of chicken grease and the smoke it created in the 500 degree oven. My oven is a mess and the house still smells like smoke the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States