Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
It's delicious, very tender and juicy. Will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is the first time I roasted a whole chicken. I was worried a bit about the spices, the sugar and the reviewers saying it tasted like pie. My chicken cooked perfectly, tasted great, no overpowering by the cinnamon, nutmeg and such, and was moist and delicious. I also doubled the amount of spices (not the salt and sugar) and added rosemary, black pepper and turmeric. This will be my go to recipe for roasting a whole chicken and I will be cooking that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I have made hundreds of roast chickens but this is the only way I will ever roast chicken again!! So moist and juicy, next time I'll marinate :) I made a gravy out of the drippings and it was all so good we ended up dunking chicken pieces in it when supper was done. Excellent recipe thank you so much! Served with Roast Sweet Potatoes and Onions from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I did not think that the combination of ingredients for the rub could ever be this delicious. Thank you for proving my prediction wrong. The house smells awesome .... and we have 3 out of 3 thumbs up. I did turn the chicken over to brown the breast. Juicy and ahhhh. Put some water in the bottom of the pan to make a sauce. Also made the recommended chimichurri sauce (my first taste of that sauce & it was impressive).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I took the skin off and wrapped the chicken in bacon tasted great.We do not like the fat that the chicken has on as it goes into the meat and you can taste the chicken fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Add me to the list of those who had my doubts about the combination of ingredients, but proceeded with preparing it thanks to all the positive reviews. Boy, was I glad I did! This is truly the tastiest roasted chicken I've ever eaten. I removed the backbone to butterfly my chicken. After reading reviews, I doubled the spices except for salt and rubbed under the skin (except for the legs, where I rubbed the spices on top). I refrigerated in a ziplock bag for the full 24 hours. I placed breast side down on a roasting pan sprayed with PAM and added several cups of water to the bottom of the pan. Boy, am I glad I did. There was literally no water (only about a half a cup of drippings) left when I opened the oven to pull the chicken out, so I can see that the pan might have been a bear to clean otherwise. I had no problems with smoking and thanks to the water, the clean-up was easy. Since I added the water, I didn't open the oven to baste. Thirty minutes before my chicken was due to come out of the oven, I put in a pan of cubed sweet potatoes to roast and turned them over after 15 minutes and returned to the oven. They were the perfect side dish. I made the chimichurri cause for steaks off of this website. We added just a small amount to our chicken and it really enhanced the spices and flavors. My family is asking for me to make it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
My husband and I aren't big fans of sweet mixed with savory, so I was pretty sure we wouldn't like this. He convinced me to try it, though, after telling me it wouldn't be the end of the world if I ruined one chicken. Boy, was I wrong and boy, was I glad he suggested it. I didn't detect any sweetness from the sugar, but the result was so flavorful, juicy and delicious. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Very enjoyable, a nice change from my usual herb-roasted or citrus chicken. Since this recipe popped up in my inbox on a day I planned to roast a chicken anyway, I decided to give it a try. I tend to agree with others who think these spices are a little offbeat for a chicken recipe, but I didn't mind it, the chicken was moist and flavorful. Substituted the sugar with honey but otherwise made it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This is awesome! Leave the chicken in the oven as you change the temperature. I made this exactly as written the first time. The second time I changed the spices, but kept the exact measurements. My girls weren't sure of the clove, cinnamon combo so next time I used basil, oregano, thyme, garlic powder mix. This is by far the best way to cook a whole chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I found this easy recipe in one of your sample magazines awhile back and just so happens I was making it again tonight when I got the email sharing it. I've shared this recipe with many. Wonderful, surprising flavor, chicken comes out moist and leftovers can be used in many ways. Gotta try, perfect for family and guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States