Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was horrible. The chicken burned during the first half hour. Under-cooked afterwards. I threw it out. Done with this whole site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I would like to know what type of oven the original recipe was cooked in. When I cooked it according to the instructions, in my standard gas oven, it was far from being done. In fact the breast of the chicken was raw inside and looked like it needed another hour of cooking time. Maybe these instructions were written for a convection oven. I was disappointed it didn't get done even though I followed all the instructions. Will finish cooking it for tonite in my crockpot to insure it gets done. Looking forward to trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
family tested and approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
The breast skin was a bit soft due to being upside-down (juices flowed downward) and I prefer crisp breast. The flavors were good but I should have turned over during the cooking process but followed the directions. I will continue baking chicken at 425 degrees with cavity stuffed with olive oil, fresh rosemary and garlic with garlic, salt and olive oil rubbed on the exterior. My family's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This recipe rocked! I did not have time to let it sit for 24 hours so it was only in the fridge for like 2 hours but it was really good. I did add some broth to the pan to help with the basting and I made gravy out of the broth & drippings from the chicken when it was done by just adding some corn starch. Family really liked it and I will make again and try it with the 24 hour prep time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Was in a rush so only marinated my half of a chicken for 1 hour, but it still came out nice and flavourful. Shall definitively keep the recipe but double the spices and replace the garlic that I don't like with chili powder to boost it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
We loved this extremely moist chicken and will definitely make it again and again. I doubled the spices as some other cooks suggested and it was delicious. Be sure to cook breast side down and don't get nervous if the chicken starts to look quite dark after the first half hour. My chicken was 5 pounds and sure enough, it cooked in just a few minutes over a total of one hour. Thanks Indriani for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Lovely flavours. Used a Pyrex dish instead of a roasting pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Berube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
best chicken recipe ever, easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Interesting combination of spices; it has a Moroccan flair. I doubled the spices and salt, though I thought it came out a little salty that way. I would keep the salt the same as the original recipe next time. I stuffed the bird w onion since I didn't have garlic cloves, and instead mixed minced garlic from a jar with the spices and rubbed that on the chicken. Cooked it right away, and added sliced carrots along the sides of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States