Simple Whole Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Delicious flavor and very easy. I cooked mine about 30 minutes longer because the thermometer kept saying it wasn't done.... I wish I had taken my chances because I feel like it would have been juicier. Interesting mix of spices that works! I put a rack on a foil lined cookie sheet so wasn't able to add veggies. Ended up adding some chicken stock to baste with an then poured some in the bottom of the pan to decrease the smoking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Strangely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Prepped the bird (4.25 lbs) plus carrots, celery, onion and baby gold potatoes the night before. About 1.5x on the spices worked well for this size per other reviewers. Before putting it in the oven I added about a cup of broth to the pan and some butter under the skin ;) Followed the recipe roasting times and temps and I had a delicious, easy meal in just over an hour! It's a really good way to cook chicken and its budget and leftover friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GGeorgi
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This recipe is great! Yes it's got an unusual combination of spices, but they are wonderful. It has a Moroccan flavor which a nice change from the usual thyme, rosemary salt and pepper flavor that we all are accustomed to. If you want to try something a little different, I recommend that you give this a try. After the first time I cooked my chicken this way,, I used a more moderate oven temperature (400 degrees and 375 degrees) because of the splatter and smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carver, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Love this recipe! Followed the original recipe mostly, except I added two quartered lemon pieces inside together with garlic and I didn't prep chicken for over night. It turned out excellent!! The skin was so crispy yummy, and the inside was juicy with plenty of garlic lemon aroma. At first, I was concerned about the cooking temperature being a bit higher (500/450 for 15 min each) than the typical whole chicken cooking, but it did help the skin be so crispy and full of flavor. Also basting is important as it helps prevent the skin being overcooked and dry (I used a brush to baste), and adds more flavor throughout the entire cooking time. I didn't need to double the amount of spice, it was plenty for my whole chicken. This roasted chicken recipe is my go-to roast chicken recipe now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Really good & super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Eleazer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
It's delicious, very tender and juicy. Will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is the first time I roasted a whole chicken. I was worried a bit about the spices, the sugar and the reviewers saying it tasted like pie. My chicken cooked perfectly, tasted great, no overpowering by the cinnamon, nutmeg and such, and was moist and delicious. I also doubled the amount of spices (not the salt and sugar) and added rosemary, black pepper and turmeric. This will be my go to recipe for roasting a whole chicken and I will be cooking that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I have made hundreds of roast chickens but this is the only way I will ever roast chicken again!! So moist and juicy, next time I'll marinate :) I made a gravy out of the drippings and it was all so good we ended up dunking chicken pieces in it when supper was done. Excellent recipe thank you so much! Served with Roast Sweet Potatoes and Onions from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States