Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Moist, tasty, quick and easy. The middle sunk but I'm at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I really like this recipe, it is very simple and you can use it with very little ingredients. I even have my daughter help, and she love to help me bake.I add an extra teaspoon of vanilla, and I have made this recipe. If you are craving a chocolate version of this, I add 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder to the milk, and warm it up and then add 2 tablespoons of sugar to the milk, kind of like you are making a hot cocoa. Then I add it to the cake batter. Comes out so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebring, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This is the recipe I use when I need a basic white cake. I sub cake flour for the all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elsaw
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Made as directed and crumb was quite good for AP flour. 1 reviewer said there was no vanilla or salt and was plainly incorrect as to vanilla (2 tsp in recipe - any relation to Johnny Clegg of Savuka fame Connie ?) I'd tone down the vanilla to 1 dose (tsp) add a generous 1/8 tsp salt & maybe 1/4 c. less sugar ( if frosted this would have given me the sugar shakes) and when using AP flour the lack of moisture was correct. The corn starch/buttermilk suggestion would be OK if adding 1/4 c. b.milk & replacing some of the B. powder with 1/2 tsp B. soda to counter the acid of B.milk & the suggestion of using high ratio cake flour would throw this recipe and make it unbalanced as clearly the original author of this cake new what they were doing! 4.5 stars for my taste (too sweet & vanilla heavy). Thanks for a great base to work from !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I scraped out a vanilla bean pod and added the scrapings, and these were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Thanks for sharing this recipe! It is easy to make with ingredients that are usually on hand, and clean up is simple. This is a great recipe when you want something quick to make that is not going to yield a big amount that you have trouble getting rid of before it goes stale - a very handy everyday recipe. I've made this just as written once. The next time I threw in some blueberries to see how the recipe adapts. I also used buttermilk, because I like baking with that when using blueberries so that their color stays bright. The recipe is a winner as is, but it's also flexible; next time I plan on trying some chopped cranberries and coconut. A sprinkle of sanding sugar on top before baking added interest, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I loved this recipe but I made a few alterations. I subbed vanilla-flavored almond milk for the milk and because I didn't have enough vanilla extract, I ended up using only 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and 1/2 a tsp of anise extract. The cake came out incredibly moist and the anise extract really added to the overall flavor, making it sweeter than what it would have originally been. It's already been requested as a birthday cake for a friend of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This is an amazing recipe make it now!!!!!!!!??????????????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
At first I thought this was going to turn out great, but when my friend finished icing it I knew that this was all wrong. I knew exactly what I had to do. Despite my friend's disapproving stare, I angled my fist and landed a solid punch into the cake. My fist barely made a dent in the cake even after compulsively slamming my fist into the cake. "Caroline!" My friend Sharon had yelled, "You're such a wildcard!" After that we enjoyed a happy fun-filled night to remember. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
i personally think its a great recipe except the need for little salt and i believe the sugar is a little less in my opinion. may be i do have a sweet tooth..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nair Sankar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States