Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
this cake was so good! I had to make a cake for a party it needed a little more vanilla it was soft and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I've made this cake twice. The first time my family said it tasted like cornbread, the second time it was a little better. I'm following the instructions exactly, so I don't know why I can't get it right! I'm trying to learn to bake cakes, and this recipe seems simple enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebb328

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
The cupcakes were dry & tasted more like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I don't know what I did wrong, but this cake did not turn out how I would've liked it… It was kind of dense and dry. I followed the recipe exactly. Not how I wanted my birthday cake to turn out. Kind of wish I used a box mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Delicious! Been making this recipe for YEARS, but finally rated it. I make this all the time as cupcakes and cake, if you make plain vanilla, I suggest putting 1 TB of raspberry/strawberry jam in the cupcake holders to add a yummy hint to it and I also use 3/4 cup milk instead of 1/2 to make the cupcakes nice and moist:) Thanks Scottosman for the awesome recipe!:) EDIT: Have made this with Buttercream frosting and Grocery store style frosring. (both on allrecipes also)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Hashmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
It's frustrating because I made this cake 5 times, using butter, and everything and still not done in center, and out side is brown. Frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki Marie Gomez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Greenstreet
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
A friend recommended this to me and wow, what a fantastic cake recipe. All flavors are perfectly balanced and it's incredibly easy to make. I made cupcakes and they came out with perfect texture in and out. I really like the fineness of the crumb, but that could be because I really whipped up the butter, sugar and egg mixture with a wire whip beater, then switched to a paddle-type beater for mixing in the remaining dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Greenstreet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Despite other reviews that indicated the cake was too dry, I wanted to try it anyway. It was a really good cake that was springy and fluffy! I'm not much of a baker, so even with my limited knowledge, it turned out pretty great. I had to add a few more splashes of milk (I used coconut milk because I never have regular milk in my fridge) because it was a touch dry. I also accidentally added 2 tablespoons of vanilla (oops) but it was great anyway. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I will also point out that I do not have a mixer, not even an electric hand mixer, so I did this all by hand with spatulas and whisks. When I was mixing the butter and sugar, it felt a bit hopeless because it didn't look like it would ever come together. But finally after 5 or 6 minutes or so, it started to look pasty so I kept going for a few more minutes. I used a hard spatula almost like a knife to cut through the butter and sugar and force it to come together. From there on out, I made sure each new item was well combined before moving on, no matter how long it took! It definitely paid off. Baked it for 35 minutes. I made a simple whipped cream in my magic bullet for the cake and topped the whole thing off with halved strawberries. Yum! I'm definitely trying this one again in the future. Thanks for a great, basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H Choi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this simple white cake for Memorial day holiday,and made the bananas foster I from this site to pour over the cake. I added vanilla ice cream and topped it off with fresh cut strawberries and whipped cream. I followed the recipe as written except that I added 1/4 teaspoon of ground Tahitian vanilla bean to the cake batter. Next time, I'll try caramelized pineapple as a topping. Simply divine easy cake and extremely versatile! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikikim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
omg, perfect! Better than any box cake. I did what the review with two stars said and added 2 tbs of corn starch to 1 cup of flour; 1 tbs for 1/2 cup and the 1/2 tsp of salt, that's all i change. DEVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States