Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I made this cake for strawberry shortcake. It's so good!!! I did add more sugar but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Absolutely FABULOUS! Great texture and flavour. The family LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheYankee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I made it fat free by using 3 egg whites and substituting the butter with a 1/2 cup of applesauce, it turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I have made this cake several times. When we can't afford to buy something sweet at the store, we have the basic ingredients at home and it satisfies our sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vulcanesque
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was the recipe I used to make cup cakes and vanilla cake for the first time! I am rating 4 stars instead of 5 because though my batch came out delicious, it was because I ised some of the additions recommended in the comments, and not the unadulterated recipe posted. I added an extra 1/4 cup of milk, and used 2 tbsp of vanilla extract. It took 20 minutes for a dozen cupcakes. I brought them to my boyfriends house for Easter and they were a hit! Everyone said they were the most moist cupcakes they'd had, and one person said they never like cupcakes because they're too bready and crumbly but they were surprised how good these were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This recipe is simple and perfect. I made cupcakes, and they came out rich and moist, and just the right density. They werent airy, but they certainly werent dense or cornbread like. Just cake-like. The one change I made was to sub in 1/2 cup cake flour for all-purpose. This is nearly the exact recipe for my favorite disappearing sugar cookie, and I think I just found my favorite cake recipe! Sweet and simple! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McCambridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I used this recipe for a thick Easter cake and it turned out fairly well. My only addition to the mix was a teaspoon of salt. The taste was pleasant and it was very moist. My only issue is that I wish it had been a bit lighter and airier, like the sort of cake you'd get from a bakery, as that's what I was looking for. It was a bit dense, but still worked well enough for what I needed, and it still tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This recipe turned out great. We made a triple batch and turned it into 36 cupcakes. It had great texture and flavor. A very good Vessel for just about any type of frosting or design you might want to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I use this recipe to make cupcakes. They are super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
best recipe ever! I used this recipe for cupcakes and they were perfect! I baked them for 10 mins then flipped the tray so the heat is equal and baked for another 10 mins, they turned out perfectly moist. one suggestion is that if you are out of eggs you can use mayonnaise! I know its a seems a bit weird but it works! I didn't have any eggs so I used 3 tbsp. for every 1 egg. it worked perfectly! overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States